Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 6472865330
we live in: Toronto, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children: Nope
Pets: Chickens and Pond Fish

Hey, 

Thanks for getting to know us. We can’t wait to meet you! Over the past few years, we have been learning about paths to parenting. We chose adoption because we want to share our home and to build a family on a foundation that we’re always building. We’re excited to be at this place on our journey! We commit to loving and supporting a new child for who they are, because we all have a story. 

Our village is made up of family and friends that are waiting to meet our new addition and to be a part of their lives. Grandparents, aunts & uncles, cousins, close friends and community have shared our excitement for our future family. We welcome an open adoption and we think it’s important to work with you on making this comfortable for you and for us. 

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. We look forward to creating a family with your faith in us.

Devin & Kefir

A Little Something ‘bout Devin

Written by Kefir

We travel well together. That’s meaningful for a planner. Devin’s a planner in both senses of the word – urban and organized. He knows what we need to do and the best route to get there. He keeps a close group of friends and has built a community around his teaching and work. You’re likely to find Devin cycling to his next meeting and stopping to help a stranger find their way. Expect to hear Alanis or Fiona Apple on the radio while discussing public transit. If I were on a desert island, I would bring Devin – he packed all the right supplies and he knows where to find the coconuts.

What I Really Think About Kefir

Written by Devin

When I think about parenting with Kefir I envision the roles that each of us would take in raising a family. My reference point to family roles is my own childhood in northern British Columbia. Both my mom and dad had very specific duties around the house and in the family. Kefir is a fun and creative guy and he doesn’t let anything stress him out. Kefir spends so much of his time in the water, he will always take the kids swimming and to lessons. He will introduce kids to art as it a passion of his, like felting, painting and drawing. I’m looking forward to going on short hikes where we will draw maps of our trek so everyone knows which way to get back home and how to navigate on their own. 

Family & Adoption

Building a family and raising a child is not something we could do alone. The relationships we had growing up have taught us that it takes a network of family, friends, and a community to support a new child. We have close connections to our siblings, their 9 children and our cousins in Canada and Israel. Through work, volunteering, and a waterpolo club we learned the value of support and sharing to help us live well with meaning. An open adoption is something we have thought through and are happy to work on together. 

Our First Date

More than 8 years ago, Kefir and Devin met on a warm night in Toronto. We bonded over growing up in faraway places (Northern British Columbia and Israel). We ended the evening with a hefty poutine and an awkward first kiss. Our second date was a beach day at Cherry Beach in Toronto. We went swimming and Devin packed a picnic with chips, veggies and drinks (Devin loves to host). By the fourth date we met each other’s friends and 3 months later we were living together! 

Parenting by Example

Resilience: Learning through our successes and failures

Respect: Caring for everyone regardless of their story – we all deserve dignity

Independence: Encourage age-appropriate activities and self-confidence 

Empathy: Feelings and emotions are great!

Strength: Life can present challenges and overcoming them makes you stronger

Home Life

We moved into our house in Toronto’s Little Portugal neighbourhood in 2013. We purchased the house and renovated it together. The house now has three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a front garden, backyard, and a rear garage which is now a home office. 

In the spring and summer we spend most of our time on the front patio having dinner and talking to neighbours. We host BBQs in the backyard by the fish pond and the chicken coop. We keep a spare room for visits from friends and Devin’s parents from British Columbia. 

Our neighbourhood is a community. We live downtown. Our area is walkable and quiet. When the nieces and nephews come to visit we can’t get very far without them wanting to check out the playgrounds, splash pads, or children’s events at local schools and theatres. We take pride in our space!

We would love to hear from you

Learn more about us at our website: https://www.luckiestdads.com/