Patrick & Curtis

We both come from close-knit families and always have wanted to become parents. We have been together since 2012 and have built a great life together. We enjoy friends, family, camping and travel. In 2018 we were blessed with adopting our son, who is the highlight of our lives. Our son loves cars, gymnastics, swimming and playing with all his friends! He has the sweetest outgoing personality and we know he will be an amazing big brother. We have made sure that he has had the opportunities to be involved in play based activities to support his physical and social development. We always knew that we wanted to have a big family and are hopeful to have our family grow again through adoption.

Contact Info: patrickandcurtis@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Michael Taylor

Quick Facts

Patrick

Age: 33

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Christian

Profession: Registered Nurse

Education: Bachelor Degree

Interests: - Camping- Travelling- Concerts

Curtis

Age: 39

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Christian

Profession: Management

Education: College Diploma

Interests: - Camping - Concerts- Travelling

Our Community

Years Together: 9

Province: Ontario

City: Durham Region

Neighbourhood: Suburban

Other Children: Son - Asher, 2 years old

Pets: Charlie (Maltipoo) and Harper (Yorkiepoo)

Child Preferences

Age: 0-6 Months

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No Preference

Special Needs: Yes

Type of Adoption: Open

About Us

We have been together for 9 years now and have built a solid foundation for our family. We met in Kingston in 2012 after exchanging messages and phone calls over several weeks. Since then we have been inseparable. In 2013 we got our first home together and welcomed our two dogs (Charlie and Harper) into our lives. We spent the first few years of our relationship traveling to many places including, Thailand, Portugal, Spain, Italy and down south. Over the past few years we have watched our friends start having families of their own and knew this was something we wanted for us as well. In 2018, we were blessed by our son’s birth mom who decided we would be Father’s to Asher through private adoption. We have loved every moment of watching our son grow into the fun and sweet little boy he has become. Although Covid has put a halt on being able to participate in organized activities, we have had him in swimming and gymnastics! These opportunities have developed his social and physical development. As Asher gets older, we are excited to have him join organized activities such as sports, arts and music groups. We feel its important to recognize and nurture our children’s natural talents. Our home is filled with love, adventure, fun and support.

Our Home & Community

We live in a very family orientated community and are within walking distance to many parks, schools and recreation centres. We are blessed to have great neighbours and a welcoming community of young families for our children to grow up with. We are thankful to have many of our family and friends living close by! We purchased our home last year which has four bedrooms and gives us lots of room for our family to grow.

During the warmer months, we are often found at our second home, the trailer! We have our trailer parked at a beautiful camping ground. Our park has an amazing beach which is so fun for the kids. The park is filled with young families and we are so happy to have our children be able to grow up being active outside and making friends.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We believe in supporting our children to make the choices that are right for them. We embrace all forms of cultures and beliefs through our diverse group of friends and family. We will embrace our children’s culture and support them by being raised with good morals and values. We want our children to know their roots and understand their background. We feel that their cultural heritage is an important part of their identity and will commit to integrating their heritage into our lives. Along with ensuring our children are well educated, we would also want them to flourish socially by participating in extracurricular activities such as sports, music and the arts.

Our promises to you:

  1. To believe in our child to follow their dreams and accomplish goals to their best ability.
  2. To listen, understand and be honest in addressing their concerns and needs.
  3. To keep them safe and healthy.
  4. To teach them about their roots.
  5. To accept and love our child unconditionally.
  6. Let them explore and experience life
  7. Allow them to make mistakes and learn from them.

Our son has indigenous heritage. In our home we have a cultural nook, that includes a deer skin drum that Asher loves, dream catcher, moccasins, and art work. All these items were gifted by friends and family who are connected to native heritage, such as Patrick’s Uncle George who is Metis. We believe it’s important to have items and art in our house that represent our family. We hope to attend celebrations such as pow wows in the future! Unfortunately, the covid situation has hindered us from attending a pow wow this past year. Curtis has First Nations heritage as well, his great grandfather was Mohawk.

Closing Thoughts

Thank you for taking the time to learn a little more about our family and we look forward to learning about you as well! We respect that everyone has a different idea of what openness looks like and that it evolves. We are comfortable with having visits, sharing updates and photos with our child’s biological family. We feel strongly that it’s important that children know where they come from and we are comfortable welcoming you into our family. We will be thinking of you as you navigate the profiles of perspective families and hope you are able to make the best decision for yourself and baby. We look forward to hearing from you!

Contact Info: patrickandcurtis@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Michael Taylor

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: