Melissa & Daniel

Thanks for taking a look at our profile!  We hope that this brief description about us and our life together will interest you to consider us as potential great parents for your child.

We are a couple that lives in Burlington, Ontario and sees the world as our stage.  Daniel – who was adopted has lived around the world and speaks multiple languages.  Melissa – the eldest child of two studied abroad in high school and university. The two of us bonded over our love for the world, people, adventures, and opportunities.

We’re now looking at the next stage of our lives which includes raising a child who will grow up to have the many wonderful opportunities we have had.  We’re excited, anxious, and humbled that you’re considering us.

Contact Info: mdpeneykema@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lorraine Franco

Quick Facts

Melissa

Age: 42

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Christian

Profession: Non-profit Executive

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Travelling, Hiking, Art, Reading, Food, Real Estate, Animals, Environment & Nature

Daniel

Age: 49

Ethnicity: Black

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Business Owner

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Travelling, Biking, Music, Art, Hiking, Community Involvement, Aviation

Our Community

Years Together: 14

Province: Ontario

City: Burlington

Neighbourhood: Suburban

Other Children: No

Pets: Two boy cats (Maestro & Toby)

Child Preferences

Age: Up to 2 years

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: Black, bi-racial (black-white), white

Special Needs: Mildly Correctable

Type of Adoption: No Preference

About Us

MELISSA & DANIEL – ABOUT US

We were married in 2014.  There’s no denying that we knew we were a perfect match when we first met at an event to which we were invited by friends who were dating.  Within minutes we learned that we had studied similar disciplines in university, both speak German, love to travel, and both lived abroad in East Africa and Switzerland.

I, Melissa, born in Toronto and brought up in Pickering, Ontario, am the daughter of teachers.  Lifelong learning, sharing, and family are important values instilled in me that I uphold to this day.

I, Daniel, born in Montreal and brought up in Africa, Europe, and Canada, am the son of an engineer and artist.  Doing my part to make the world safer and healthier represent the foundation of my beliefs.

Our commitment to each other was instant and we remain a very closely connected couple.  We are each other’s best friends, we enjoy each other’s company, and our values are aligned.

While we love travelling and discovering the world and its people, we treasure long chats at the fireplace, quiet time, and preserving family traditions.  We love cycling and hiking, driving to random small communities we’ve never previously heard of, and hanging out with our cats.

To us, education is the foundation to personal and professional achievement, and it will continue to be one of the most prominent characteristics of our family.  Beyond education, we’re deeply commitment to respect and empowerment.  We believe that everyone has tremendous potential if that potential is nurtured.  Every human being’s differences are what makes this world so great. Diversity truly is our family’s strength.

We embarked on the adoption journey because we want an adopted child.  The positive personal and lived experience contributed to this decision and we are excited for what the future holds.

MELISSA – ABOUT ME

I am the eldest of two children. My brother and I grew up with our mom and dad who were both teachers (they are now enjoying retired life!). My parents worked extremely hard to provide us with every opportunity. I grew up in a very happy, positive, loving, supportive and nurturing environment – exactly the type of environment I am excited to provide a child!

My capacity for love, fun, and adventure knows no bounds. In high school, I went to Germany for a year as an exchange student. There, I learned a new language, a new culture, and got bitten by the travel bug! Later on, when I was in university, I completed a semester in Switzerland, and during my master’s degree, I had a chance to work and study for a few months in East Africa. Travelling the world is very important to me, and I can’t wait to share my love of travel and different cultures with a child.

I’m passionate about what I do professionally as well. My career is focused on making the world a better place by protecting the environment and improving people’s lives. I feel so blessed to work at something I love.

DANIEL – ABOUT ME

I had a fantastic childhood!  Adopted at the age of 8 months by European parents, I grew up in Canada, several African and European countries and quickly learned to speak multiple languages. Most of my siblings were also adopted and come from all corners of the world.  Being adopted is my identity, and I wear it proudly!

I spent most of my younger years in private school, went to great universities, and now own my own successful business through which I do what I love most – helping others.

Travelling and learning about the world around us is something I’ve done since childhood and am committed to doing that for as long as possible.  There’s something so special about having seen so many countries, exploring so many cultures, and having experienced so many things.

As a father of an adopted child, I would bring a unique perspective by being able to relate, equipped to support, and most importantly determined to love – unconditionally.

I can only hope that someday, our son or daughter will look back at their younger years and say what I say with pride, “my childhood was awesome!”

Our Home & Community

We have a beautiful family-centric, fun and loving home in suburban Burlington.  With a beautiful bedroom close to us, a playroom, living room and more, our place is ideal for a child.

Our neighbourhood, though quiet, is brought to life by the many children who live nearby.  We are moments from community parks, walking trails, and even a provincial park where seeing deer and other animals is common.

This community also has numerous public and private schools that ensure a child will receive the best education just moments from home.

We have two boy cats. The eldest, Maestro, is a loving, gentle, affectionate cat with super-soft grey fur. He loves dozing under coffee tables, and his favourite times of day are breakfast, lunch, dinner and treat time.  Toby, the youngest, is very vocal and full of positive energy! In between play times, he loves cuddling.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We believe in the importance of using a positive, loving parenting approach, and providing a child with a stable, nurturing home environment. We look forward to creating wonderful family traditions with a child, and providing them with access to as many different opportunities as possible to enable them to blossom into the amazing person they’re meant to be!

Adoption is very important to us! We feel this to be the ideal route to start our family. We are a family who is already very familiar with adoption and feel that our perspective will enable your child to thrive in an open, unconditionally loving and diverse family.

Closing Thoughts

We have been waiting for this moment for many years and hope that after reading our profile, you feel confident that your child’s future will be safeguarded by a couple so determined to provide only the very best.  In a home where we are respectful, have fun, love to laugh, discover, and be kind; there are so many opportunities.

Adoption is magical in so many ways, especially because you get to choose your child’s parents.  Our promise to you is to love your child, nurture them as children should be, and protect them in meaningful and unique ways that all children, but especially adopted children, need to be.  How amazing if your child could be adopted into an adopted family!

Contact us when you’re ready.  mdpeneykema@gmail.com | www.peneykemafamily.ca

Contact Info: mdpeneykema@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lorraine Franco

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: