Kevin & Lisa

Hi! We’re Lisa and Kevin, an outdoorsy and caring couple from Toronto. We love camping, hiking, travelling, and exploring our own neighbourhood. There are so many experiences we would love to share with your child.

We have stable careers and own a home in a vibrant, family-friendly neighbourhood. While we both enjoy our jobs, we will absolutely put your child’s needs before our career goals. Thank you for getting to know us as we’re excited about growing our family through adoption. Our extended family (especially grandparents!) is excited too.

Contact Info: kevinandlisaronald@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Jackie Poplack

Quick Facts

Kevin

Age: 38

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Web Developer

Education: Bachelor Degree

Interests: Music, Playing Guitar and Bass, Endurance Cycling, Running, Cooking, Reading

Lisa

Age: 38

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Librarian

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Reading, Embroidery, Hiking, Camping, Running, Board Games

Our Community

Years Together: 19

Province: Ontario

City: Toronto

Neighbourhood: Urban

Other Children: No

Pets: Two short-haired cats, Scout and Maisie (1 year old, gentle).

Child Preferences

Age: Up to 2 years

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No Preference

Special Needs: Mildly Correctable

Type of Adoption: No Preference

About Us

Our Story

It honestly feels like we’ve known each other our whole lives. We both grew up in Burlington, Ontario, and neither of us can remember when we met for the first time. We had a lot of mutual friends when we were growing up, and we went to the same schools throughout childhood.

We began dating in our last year of high school, but then we moved to separate cities and had a long distance relationship for several years. It was challenging, but we made it through. In 2008, we got married and have been proud to call Toronto home ever since. Almost 20 years since we started dating, we’re in our 30s and still crazy about each other. Even in tough times, we find ways to have fun every day.

We strive to live our lives with compassion, and that extends to what we put on our plates. We eat a plant-based diet, focusing on nourishing our bodies without cruelty to animals. Your child will have a ton of delicious foods to choose from, and we will listen to their preferences and perspective on this as they grow.

While we have different interests and very different jobs, we are absolutely best friends first and foremost. The love and respect we have for each other will be extended to your child.

About Kevin

Kevin grew up in Burlington with his Mom, Dad, and older brother, Cory. His grandparents taught him a lot about repairing things, gardening, and being self-sufficient. His childhood was full of big family get-togethers with his mother’s Italian family. There was the big annual Christmas celebration at his Uncle Sam’s every year, and the family picnic still happens every July.

Kevin is a website developer at an advertising agency in downtown Toronto. He’s been with the same company for about 10 years. He loves cooking, cycling, playing bass guitar, and dancing like a total weirdo.

About Lisa

Lisa also grew up in Burlington, with her Mum, Dad, and older sister, Andrea. Her Grandma was disabled and taught Lisa a lot about resilience and self-confidence. Lisa’s father came to Canada by boat when he was 2 years old. His family left post-war England looking for a better life. In the summers, Lisa’s dad’s family would all get together on her grandparents’ farm in Bruce County.

During her teens, Lisa travelled all over North America and to Europe with a marching band. She still has a love of music, singing in a choir.

Lisa is currently a public librarian, specializing in children’s literacy. She loves reading, running, hiking, and sewing sassy cross-stitch designs.

Our Home & Community

We live in a 3 bedroom Victorian home on a fairly quiet street in the Junction, a really vibrant, multicultural neighbourhood in the west end of Toronto. A lot of young families live on our block! Our house backs onto a laneway where kids ride their bikes and play on summer evenings.

We’re within walking distance of several parks with playgrounds and splash pads. A short bus ride will take us to High Park.

Our neighbourhood has a lot of great annual events, like Pumpkin Fest, Santa in the Junction, and the Summer Solstice Festival, which shuts down the main street for the whole day for live music, buskers, and lots of activities for families.

Your child will be able to walk to the local public school and the public library.

The West Toronto Railpath runs through our neighbourhood. We see a lot of kids learning to ride their bikes and skateboarding on summer evenings.

Our diverse neighbourhood is a welcoming place for families and kids of all races and cultures.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We wish for your child to feel loved, supported, respected, and fully welcomed into our family.

We believe that children should be spoken to in respectful, constructive ways. We try to avoid those “because I said so” situations. We intend to focus on having conversations with your child, rather than simply laying down rules.

Your child will be supported in literacy and learning from the beginning, especially since Lisa is a Children’s Librarian. We’ll learn together through playing, talking, singing, reading, and writing.

We will support your child as they figure out who they want to be. We’ll encourage them to pursue their interests, and we’re ready to be the parent taxi, driving around to activities, clubs, or sports practices. We know that your child will be an individual with their own thoughts, opinions, likes, dislikes, strengths, and weaknesses.

We’re ready to have an exciting family life with your child. We look forward to singing silly songs together, watching your child’s favourite animated movies over and over, reading bedtime stories, and having their friends over. We’ll bake together, visit family, introduce them to all kinds of music, and go camping. We hope to add a sibling or two along the way.

We will both be able to take parental leave to help your child settle in. While we both currently work full-time, Lisa is considering a move to part-time work following adoption. There are many quality childcare options in our neighbourhood as well and Kevin currently works from home, so has some flexibility in his schedule.

Both of us have chosen professions we enjoy and which offer us stability, but we put family first. We would adapt our lives and careers to suit the needs of our family; not the other way around.

We intend to be open with your child about their adoption story. We’ll start having age appropriate conversations with them about what adoption is and what it means to be adopted from the beginning. They will know about you and we will always talk about you with respect and positive words. Adoption won’t be something we talk about at set times or when it’s most convenient for us. We know your child will have questions at random times and we will address them whenever they come up.

Everyone in our extended family is ready to welcome your child with open arms. Our parents have been educating themselves on how they can be supportive as adoptive grandparents. Lisa’s grandparents were foster parents, so her family is used to welcoming others into the family, including an aunt who aged out of the foster care system and has been a family member ever since.

We are open to having a relationship with you. We don’t know exactly what that will look like, and we leave a lot of that part up to you. We would like to know what your comfort level is, but we would be happy to stay in contact with you throughout your child’s childhood and beyond.

Closing Thoughts

Your child will be loved and supported in our home and with our extended family and friends. They will be given opportunities and encouragement to find their path in life, and will have a support net in difficult times. No matter how close or far, we will strive to maintain the relationship with you that you desire, as we believe that a child can never have too much love. Thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

Contact Info: kevinandlisaronald@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Jackie Poplack

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: