Jen & Chris

Hello there! We are Chris, Jen and Silas. Thank you for taking the time to take a look at our profile!
We first met 2008, at a diamond mine in the middle of nowhere in Northern Ontario. Chris was a field research assistant with the University of Waterloo and Jen was an administrative assistant. Our first date was in Dublin, Ireland because, as fate would have it, we were both in the area at the same time for different reasons. Fast forward 12 years, we are married, living in Stoney Creek with an awesome dog (more on him to come!), and proud parents to the sweetest and funniest 4-year-old (Silas himself!).

We are both employed in the insurance industry (super exciting we know) and have worked hard at establishing our career paths. In our downtime we enjoy taking it easy at home or travelling and exploring new places. We come from close-knit families that have provided much love, guidance and support throughout our lives and continue to be a source of encouragement and inspiration every day.

Contact Info: chris.jen.adopt@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lorraine Franco

Quick Facts

Jen

Age: 36

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Other

Profession: Operations Manager

Education: College Diploma

Interests: Reading, home improvements

Chris

Age: 38

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Other

Profession: Claim Adjuster

Education: Bachelor Degree

Interests: Cooking, watching movies, playing video games

Our Community

Years Together: 12

Province: Ontario

City: Stoney Creek

Neighbourhood: Suburban

Other Children: 1

Pets: 1 dog

Child Preferences

Age: No Preference

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No preference

Special Needs: Open To Discussion

Type of Adoption: No Preference

About Us

A BIT ABOUT JEN

Hello, Jen here! I grew up in west of Toronto, with my parents and younger sister. I have always been a socially shy person, but when I have my mind set on something I am very motivated and determined. I like to think I am funny, I know I am a bit clumsy and I am always willing to help others.

Growing up I played soccer, loved to swim (synchronized swimming and diving) and even tried a musical instrument (not successfully).

Day-to-day I love to read, swim, play with Silas and go for family walks. We love to travel, fix up the house and enjoy a family favourite; Saturday family movie nights.

I count myself lucky to have found Chris; he is my opposite, a great supporter and my biggest cheerleader. He is patient, warm and an excellent cook to boot. Chis is an AMAZING dad. He is adventurous, funny, patient and caring. Silas refers to him as his best friend for a reason (i only had a little bit of jealousy when i wrote that :))

I have an amazing and supportive family. We are very close and everyone is excited to welcome a new addition.

My parents live nearby and are always a source of support. I have a very large, but very close extended family that often gathers for family events and holidays. We get together every Sunday for a family dinner.

A BIT ABOUT CHRIS

Hello there! I was born and raised east of Toronto. My childhood was ridiculously average, right down to the nightly family dinner around the table and the faithful Labrador retriever. I played soccer and baseball, took karate and acted in school plays.  In high school I was a good student who excelled in science and music, and even dabbled in the school band!  I went on to attend the University of Waterloo and earned a Bachelor’s of Environmental Studies in Geography.

When I met Jen at the mine I knew I found the perfect person. She was warm, friendly and had the most radiant smile. It does not feel like we have been together as long as we have because I am continually learning new things about her and my love for her grows every day. She is a great mom – caring, understanding, honest and imaginative – it is amazing to watch her give her all to provide the best for him. I would not want to be on this adventure with any other person.

A little about me . . . I am a big movie and music fan, play video games, and enjoy science-type things and nerdy pop culture.  Life should not be taken too seriously and I try to learn something new every day.

My parents moved from England to Canada shortly after they were married.  My mother was an elementary school secretary and is the oldest of 12 children. My father was a physiotherapist, and only had one brother. They are now both happily retired.

My younger sister and I were both adopted from birth. Despite being very different people, we share many similarities. She is a teacher and lives in Japan with her husband.

Since most of my extended family still lives in England, we developed a “surrogate” Canadian family comprised of a network of family friends. I think this gives me a unique life perspective – family is what you make it and biological relation is optional.

A BIT ABOUT SILAS

Silas is funny, imaginative, caring and your biggest cheerleader. He loves playing outside and making friends with everyone. Silas’ interests are wide ranging – Star Wars to Frozen, music to monster trucks. He loves with his whole self and we have no doubt he will make the greatest big brother.

Silas often tells us that his brother or sister is “growing in his heart” and one day they will come out to play with him.

Our Home & Community

CARLIN!

We have a 9 year old aussie doodle named Carlin. He is smart, fun and full of energy. He makes coming home from a long day all the better. He loves walks, belly rubs, playing catch and his ridiculous amount of toys (each of which he knows by name).  He does not like squirrels and he is never too far away from a ball.

TRAVEL

We both loved to travel before we met and have continued our adventures since Silas entered our lives. As a couple, we have been fortunate to visit such places as Mexico, Cuba, Iceland, England, Ireland and Scotland. Silas also loves to go on new adventures, and has experienced hot (U.S. Virgin Islands) and cold (Yukon Territory) locations – and wants to go back to both!

We believe that travel is one of the best life and educational experiences one can have and hope to continue this tradition as our family grows.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

CHRIS’ ADOPTION STORY

Adoption has been an integral part of my life and has helped to define the person I am today. I was adopted from birth in closed adoption, so I did not know much about my birth family until much later. My parents were always open and honest with both me and my sister about adoption. I always knew there was something special about my history and was always curious about where I came from. I was never ashamed to approach my parents with any questions and, although they may not have had all the answers at the time, they were always supportive of any search I may pursue to obtain additional information about my birth history.

When I was in my mid-20s I was very fortunate to locate my birth mother .The day I first reached out to her was one of the most nervous moments of my life, but when she responded confirming that she would like to meet I was overjoyed. I was happy to find out about my maternal birth family and heritage. My birth mom and I have remained close over the years, often calling to catch up and occasionally meeting for meals and holidays. She has met both mine and Jen’s family and she was even a guest at our wedding! I feel that I am a much richer person now that I know a more about my birth history, unfortunately I still do not have all the information about my paternal heritage, but my journey continues . . .

Being adopted has always been a part of who I am and I have never been ashamed or unwilling to talk about it with anyone who is interested.

Jen and I follow a similarly open approach when speaking to Silas about his adoption. Although he is young, he understands the basic concept, he is not afraid to ask questions and he loves to hear his birth story.

Closing Thoughts

Jen and I have both been beside each other through this adoption process and our collective knowledge, experiences and love have prepared us for the next step.

Thanks for the taking the time to view our profile. We hope this gave you a small glimpse into our lives.

Wishing you all the best,

Jen, Chris & Silas

Contact Info: chris.jen.adopt@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lorraine Franco

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: