Jane & Marius

Thank you for taking the time to read through our profile to get to know us.  We understand that this decision must be very difficult for you. We hope this profile will give you a good sense of who we are.  We are very excited to take this next step in our lives and welcome a child into our family.  We hope that you decide to help make our dream a reality by considering us as potential parents.

Contact Info: jmadopts@gmail.com, 416-316-7339

Adoption Professional: Michael Blugerman

Quick Facts

Jane

Age: 46

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Agnostic

Profession: Professor/artist

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: reading, hiking, walking the dog, camping, electronics, watching movies, cooking, doing puzzles

Marius

Age: 48

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Agnostic

Profession: Software Engineer

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: cooking, fishing, electronics, reading, playing games, hiking

Our Community

Years Together: 9

Province: Ontario

City: Toronto

Neighbourhood: Urban

Pets: hypoallergenic dog (Barbet) and cat (Russian Blue)

Child Preferences

Age: Up to 2 years

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No preference

Special Needs: Open To Discussion

Type of Adoption: Open

About Us

We met each other relatively late in life. Each of us spent most of our lives travelling, studying, and working professionally. We each lived in different countries. Jane grew up in Canada, has lived in Manitoba, Quebec, and Ontario. She has lived abroad, in both Japan and the US.

Marius grew up in Norway and lived in Vienna, Austria for several years. The two of us met in Vienna in 2010 and instantly had a connection. After knowing each other for two years, we decided to get married and we both settled in Canada.

We now live in Ontario. Jane is a university professor and Marius is a software engineer.

We live in a big house with a large garden, with ample space for play and exploration.

Our Fertility Story

As Jane was 39 at the time, we realised that we needed to start trying for a family. Since 2013 we have had 4 miscarriages, some of them fairly late in the first trimester, which has been quite devastating emotionally. To come so close to the dream, only to lose out. We have tried multiple cycles of IUI, IVF, and even egg donation, and even worked with a surrogate with no success. It seems that we will not succeed doing this on our own. We have decided to move forward with our adoption plans, as we have so much to give and deeply want to start our own family. We hope that you consider us as potential parents, and hope our story touches you in some way.

Our Parenting Style

As parents we believe in being a united front, to never react irrationally and to let our minds guide our actions. We would like for our children to learn about diplomacy, fairness, respect, reason and discussion by actively modelling these behaviours for them. We do not believe in physical punishment. We believe in discussion and understanding to be the guiding factors in raising a child. We believe that children have a voice, and they need to both be heard and respected – that above all their feelings matter, their opinions are important and that they know that they are loved and respected.

A little about Jane

I grew up in Winnipeg, Manitoba. I was an active child – I skated in the winters and in the summers, I spent my time hiking, swimming, and fishing. We have a large family and are very close. I grew up going to a family cabin with my aunts, uncles and cousins and so we developed strong friendships. We continue to stay in close contact despite the fact that I now live in Ontario.  In my 20s I spent a lot of time travelling and seeing the world, I even lived in Japan for two years before moving to Montreal to do my master’s degree. In fact, I met Marius in Vienna, when I was doing an artist’s residency. He and I randomly met at my art opening, where we had the chance to talk and become friends.

Jane as a new mother (from Marius)

Jane will be an excellent mother – she cares deeply about her loved ones and will do anything to make them happy. She craves the opportunity to love a child and provide her/him with opportunities and experiences that will be magical, educational, and just plain fun.  She will be very good at instilling values that help our future child both love and honour themselves, and also other people. Jane is an excellent caregiver, who is conscientious and considerate, she believes in freedom, privacy and responsibility. As our child grows, I know that Jane will be great at balancing the need to protect and love, with her belief that children need to self- determine and make their own decisions.

A little about Marius

I grew up in Norway in a family of 4, with a large extended family in different parts of the country.  For me, both Christmas and summer were spent traveling to visit aunts, uncles and cousins. I spent my summers in the far north, where my dad’s Sami family comes from. The Sami people are the indigenous population of northern Scandinavia. Our time up north was spent in nature, fishing and staying up throughout the endless sunny evenings of the polar circle. In the winters we spent time with my mom’s family in Bergen, where I bonded with my other cousins. We often ended up doing large week-long creative projects, like making movies and writing plays. My family also travelled a lot when we could. They instilled in me a sense of adventure, which led me to leave Norway in my early 30s, to live in Vienna, and ultimately move to Canada to be with Jane.

Marius as a new father (from Jane)

Marius is the nicest person I have ever met. He is not only soft spoken and kind, but also incredibly democratic and fair. The thought of co-parenting with him fills me with so much happiness – the chance to learn and grow with someone who has such a fair sense of the world.

As a new father Marius will excel. He will care for our future child with attention, good humour, and a deep kindness. He will provide guidance in such a way that the child will have a strong sense of autonomy and self-empowerment. He will give a child space to be what they are, while also provide direction and guidance. He will be there to pick them up if they fall over. He will always hug them and value their opinion.

Our Home & Community

Our home is the centre of our everyday life, and we like to make it as comfortable and casual as we can. We recently bought a 3-story house in Toronto.  Our neighbourhood is a residential area, which is close to amazing schools and parks. Our street is a one way and does not see much traffic. We have an open concept first floor with the kitchen, living room, and dining room all in one space. Our backyard is large and fully fenced in and we are excited to put in an herb and a vegetable garden, some flowers and also lilac trees. Our home will be an excellent place for a child to grow up in.

Our Pets

We love our creatures and consider them to be dear members of our family. Pixel the cat is 5 years old and Loki the dog is 2 ½. We try to travel together when possible and think our relationship with our pets is important. We often take them to the cabin with us in the summer.

Because we planned on adopting, we made sure to get hypoallergenic breeds – Pixel is a Russian Blue and Loki is a Barbet. Both of the animals are extremely friendly and gentle with both adults and children and they also get along very well with each other. When Pixel enters a room, he likes to greet Loki first by touching noses.

Things we like to do

We love to live healthy lives. We value being in nature, hiking, camping, cooking, fishing, and growing our own food. We think it is important to detach from our technology, our jobs, and our schedules in order to feed our bodies and minds – to get our hands dirty, breath in fresh air, and keep active. We know that once we have a child everything will change – but we hope to find new and exciting things that will activate our future child and show him or her the possibilities in life!

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We understand the importance of an open adoption. A child needs to know where they come from. They need to know about their heritage, and the wonderful people responsible for bringing them into the world.  We will always speak about his/her adoption and your decision to adopt in a positive light and to help your child embrace and celebrate his/her heritage, no matter how it may differ from our own. We prioritize this child’s happiness and believe strongly that you should be involved in some way, and we look forward to discussing and agreeing upon a mutual and long-lasting relationship.

Closing Thoughts

Thank you for taking the time to read about our family. We realise that you have a huge decision to make, and that you need to make one that is best for you. We wish you well in this decision and understand that whatever you decide is the right one. If you choose us, we would like to assure you that we are excited for an open adoption and look forward to finding a relationship that honours you as the birth mother. We are not perfect, but we do promise to do our best. Should you entrust us with your child, we will give him/her every ounce of love that is possible. Our pledge to you.

Contact Info: jmadopts@gmail.com, 416-316-7339

Adoption Professional: Michael Blugerman

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: