Erik & Jeffrey

Hello, and welcome to our profile! We are Jeffrey and Erik, and we want to start by thanking you for taking the time to read about us. We hope you are able to get a good sense of who we are as well as our excitement about starting our family. 

We live in a house in west-end Toronto with our dog, Ed, but we grew up on the East Coast (Jeffrey in New Brunswick and Erik in Nova Scotia). 

Contact Info: jeffreyanderikadopt@gmail.com, 416-254-5881

Adoption Professional: Suzanne Gri at sgri@rogers.com

Quick Facts

Erik

Age: 30

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Project Manager in Market Research

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Ceramics, Running, Baking, Volleyball

Jeffrey

Age: 30

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Arts Educator / Actor / Puppeteer

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Volleyball, History

Our Community

Years Together: 9

Province: Ontario

City: Toronto

Neighbourhood: Urban

Pets: Dog (9 year-old Lab/Cattle Dog Mix)

Child Preferences

Age: Up to 2 years

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No preference

Special Needs: Open To Discussion

Type of Adoption: Open

About Us

We met in residence during our first week at university. Jeffrey saw Erik dressed up as Robin for a campus competition, complete with head-to-toe in bright spandex. After that night, it didn’t take long for us to become fast friends. After three years of close friendship and living together in a house with other friends (at one point we had committed to being each other’s best man at our weddings), we realized that the one thing we each wanted in our future was each other, and we’ve spent our whole lives together since. 

We moved to the UK to complete graduate degrees, and then moved to Halifax together so that Erik could continue his schooling there. We spent a few years living in Halifax, exploring everything that Nova Scotia has to offer and being close to our families, before we picked up again and moved to Toronto in 2016. A year later, we rescued our dog Ed, who is a calm and loyal blue-heeler-mix who loves nothing more than snoozing in the sun and getting pets. In 2018, Erik quietly proposed to Jeffrey at the top of Niagara Falls, at the finish line of a 300km relay race. Funnily enough, Jeffrey was planning on proposing a week later, on a vacation. We were married in the following summer, in the same small town in New Brunswick where we met. 

Together, we enjoy camping and getting outdoors (running, volleyball, tennis). We make a point of cooking as many meals together as we can or trying new places around town. A typical Saturday for us might involve Erik making some scones for breakfast, a dog walk in High Park, followed by dinner and games with a small group of friends. 

About Erik by Jeffrey

Erik is a generous soul who looks after everyone he loves. He grew up in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with his parents, two siblings, and many pets, and though he lived there for over 20 years, he can barely name a single street in the city. That’s because he leads with his gut, and while he can’t tell you their names, he will spend hours telling you stories of growing up on those streets and the fun he had. He makes me laugh every single day of our life together, and is filled with energy and creativity.

Erik has a ton of interests, and is quite honestly the most creative person I have ever met. Erik spends a lot of his time making pottery, having sold pieces to people all over the globe. He grows vegetables in our backyard every summer, and has many houseplants that he faithfully keeps healthy. In the past year, he has started to bake more-often, regularly making treats to give away to friends in the neighbourhood.

When he isn’t diving into his hobbies or spending time with friends, Erik works as a Project Manager for an international market research firm, a job that lets him work from home most days. After graduating from his undergraduate degree at Mount Allison University, he completed a Master’s degree in Higher Education from Oxford University, and then went to Dalhousie University to complete his Master’s of Public Administration. He dreams of opening his own consulting firm, as well as a small pottery studio where he can teach others.

About Jeffrey by Erik

Jeffrey is exceptionally kind and an excellent listener, which is why he is able to form such strong bonds with those close to him. Jeffrey grew up in Stanley, New Brunswick, with his mom, dad, brother, and a team of aunts and uncles cheering for him his whole life. Jeffrey is, and always has been, a family-first person who enjoys nothing more than being surrounded by his loved ones. Jeffrey spent his younger years playing competitive volleyball, falling in love with theatre, camping with his family, and making summer visits to his family’s waterfront property on the Bay of Fundy.

Jeffrey’s love of the arts carried him through an undergraduate degree in Drama and a Master’s degree in Acting in the UK. He has travelled around the world, bringing theatre to young audiences, and this work with youth has opened his eyes to the necessity of creativity and art in a child’s life. He’s now applying his love for the arts as an arts educator, actor, and puppeteer. His work also helped motivate him to enroll in a college program at George Brown College, where he is working to become an autism counselor. 

Most of all, Jeffrey enjoys staying in with a few friends, taking the dog on weekend adventures, camping, or going to a cottage somewhere in Ontario. When we travel, his favorite thing to do is wander the city streets for hours and then find a cute restaurant to sample something local. 

Our Home & Community

Our home in Toronto is in a diverse, family-friendly neighbourhood, with great schools, libraries, and an outdoor skating rink all within a 10-minute walk. There is also a large park nearby we use every day to walk the dog, play tennis, or to enjoy a Sunday afternoon in the sun with friends. In the years since we moved to the neighbourhood, we have watched as it became filled with young families. 

By a stroke of luck, we managed to find a cozy two-storey house with two bedrooms, a backyard, and a porch (where Ed spends his summers snoozing in the sun and not-so-subtly picking the tomatoes off Erik’s plants). We fill our home with friends and family as often as we can, hosting games nights, Christmas parties, and our annual backyard Survivor competition. Our house is pretty much always filled with music (either from the speakers or from the two of us belting away), and there will usually be homemade baked goods somewhere in the kitchen. 

Family and Values

We are very close with both of our families, even though our parents live on the East Coast. Despite the distance, we know our parents will play a big role in their grandchild’s life, either through time spent visiting us in Toronto, or through holiday and summer vacations that we spend with them on the East Coast. Jeffrey’s brother, a school teacher, and Erik’s sister, a tattoo artist, are both excited for us to become parents and have promised to spoil their new niece or nephew. Erik’s brother lives just outside Toronto on an organic vegetable farm with his wife and two young daughters, so luckily there will always be family close by. 

We both went to church as children, with Jeffrey being raised in the Catholic church and Erik in the United church. Although we do not currently practice any one religion, we understand the value and importance of faith and spirituality, and hope to raise our children with the opportunity to learn and explore different religions. 

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

ur time to get to the adoption process, it has always been the path we planned to take in order to create our family. Our children will be showered with unconditional love from so many people, and our experience working with children gives us the confidence to enter this next part of our lives. 

To the Birth Parents

We want this to be the best experience it can be for all of us! If you’re comfortable, we are open to having an ongoing relationship with you that would include visits, emails, texts, and phone calls. We want our children to know where they come from, and we are both advocates for them exploring their heritage.

As queer people, we often say that we get the chance to create our “chosen family.” Erik and I are lucky enough to have a large family, made up of both blood relatives and people we met along the way and cherish. Our children will come into this homemade quilt of a family, and we would love to have you be a part of it as well. 

Closing Thoughts

Thank you again for reading through our profile and considering us. We wish you all the best, and if you would like to get to know us more, we would be thrilled to meet you.

Contact Info: jeffreyanderikadopt@gmail.com, 416-254-5881

Adoption Professional: Suzanne Gri at sgri@rogers.com

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: