Elyna & Charles-Etienne

Our story starts on a humanitarian trip to Mexico in late December 2012. Elyna noticed Charles was reading a book from a Montreal Library amid 40 volunteers in the common room. She asked him how he could read with all that noise. He politely answered, “I just focus on my book”. She sat next to him, pulled out her Times magazine and finally read the article she had wanted to read.

We spent New Year’s Day together and discovered we had a lot in common: books, board games, worldview, and a fondness for the great outdoors.

Back in Canada after lengthy conversations and many trips between Ottawa and Candiac, we moved in together in Ottawa. Over the next few years, we were able to motivate each other to go back to school and each complete a college diploma. In between these academic ventures we enjoy hikes, camping, canoeing, snowshoeing, board games, videogames and of course sharing reading material, social gatherings with relatives and friends!

Over the past 8 years we had a chance to learn about each other as well as grow together. We got married in February 2020.

We are now ready to include a new member in our family.

Contact Info: epg.moi@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Helen Dawkes-Brown

Quick Facts

Elyna

Age: 31

Ethnicity: Multiracial

Religion: Spiritual

Profession: Medical assitant, nurse in a family health clinic

Education: College Diploma

Interests: Reading, hiking, gardening, knitting, sewing and spinning yarn

Charles-Etienne

Age: 32

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Agnostic

Profession: Cloud support analyst

Education: College Diploma

Interests: Hiking, running, reading, tabletop games, video games

Our Community

Years Together: 8

Province: Ontario

City: Orleans

Neighbourhood: Suburban

Child Preferences

Age: No Preference

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No Preference

Special Needs: Mildly Correctable

Type of Adoption: No Preference

About Us

About Charles

I am a highly logical thinker but that is tempered by a very emotional personality. I naturally observe situations from a place of non-judgement. My background in Computer Technology has me thinking in black and white, but my wife will tell you that I am a very affectionate individual. I tend to say things in an honest and direct manner, but I always aim to be patient, compassionate and optimistic.

I was raised by a single mother; my parents having divorced when I was 5. Being a single mom and a lawyer, she somehow balanced being loving and impartial all at once and I aim to be the same as a parent.

My interests involve a lot of technology, programming, and computers but I have my sister to thank for not being a complete recluse. Being 7 years older than me, we always had more of a teacher-student relationship and she made sure I knew how to enjoy the outside as well.

I first learned about adoption through my cousin who was an adopted child. While he did not have an open adoption, his birthmother did not want one, his parents were always very open about him being adopted and I don’t remember not knowing about it. It was quite normal for the family. In fact, my whole extended family is excited by the prospect of our adoption and have been very helpful.

I always wanted to be a dad. I first decided to adopt when I was a teenager. At the time, it was simply logical to me: there was a need that I felt I could help fulfill.

Over time, my reasons changed and evolved but the idea of adoption remained. I was overjoyed when I learned Elyna had similar thoughts and, in March 2020, we finally started the adoption process.

About Elyna

Growing up in Kingston and Ottawa, I have been very fortunate to live with both my parents and my younger brother. I got to discover many places and things the world had to offer. My parents being teachers helped me cement my belief in the importance of education, in and outside the classroom.

My childhood was punctuated by family trips, camping, sports, dancing lessons, museum visits as well as summer camps.

As a teenager, I got to experience extracurricular activities through the school band, a trip to Italy and Greece, and a whole lot of babysitting! This was my first job and one that I still do in my spare time.

Now, my time is filled with family, friends, and a whole lot of creativity. I read, knit, crochet, sew, spin yarn and garden. I really enjoy seeing the process from start to finish.

When I was about 10 years old my mother explained to me how my grandparents had adopted her at a young age. From that point on I started considering adoption as a way of expanding my family once I was ready to start one.

My grandparents have shown me through their actions, that kindness, care and attention is what is needed to create a loving family. Some of my best memories, including vacations and hobbies, have stemmed from my interactions with them on their hobby farm as well as through the love they have bestowed on all five of their grandchildren, biological or not.

I hope that I will have the honor to contribute to a child’s life in the same way my parents and grandparents did.

Our Home & Community

We live in a quiet neighborhood in a 3-story townhouse in Orleans (the most eastern Ottawa suburb).

There is a lovely park 10 steps away with a play structure, swing set and large green space. There is a library and 2 recreational centers within biking distance. We would love to raise your child in this safe and multicultural environment exempt of physical discipline.

We have a close-knit circle of family and friends. Our best friends and their boys live one street away. Elyna’s parents live a quick 5-minute drive from our place. They have also offered to assist with childcare once our parental leave ends.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We want to help your child grow and develop in the best environment possible, give them access to all the opportunities we can and help nurture their self-esteem and identity.

We promise that any child that joins our family will be cared for wholeheartedly and unconditionally. We wish to show them how to dream and how to pursue those dreams to become the best version of themselves. Most importantly, they will be reminded of who they are and where they came from as well as the love their birthparents had for them.

We desire an open adoption as we believe it is in the best interest of not only the child but yours as well. We imagine this must be a hard decision and we want you to always be at peace with it. We are open to staying in contact and sharing the important milestones with you. You can be assured of our best care and respect for your child. In the event open adoption is not something you are interested in, we understand and will respect your wishes.

We have learned much through the adoption process and will continue to do so because we aim to give the child that joins our family unit everything we have in the ways of love, education and understanding in a bilingual environment.

Closing Thoughts

We would like to thank you for the time you took to consider our family during your search. We hope this has given you a glimpse of who we are and what we have to share. We have so much respect for your choice to consider adoption.

We wish you the very best as you journey through the adoption process and in deciding what is best for you and your child.

Love,

De tout coeur,

Charles and Elyna

Contact Info: epg.moi@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Helen Dawkes-Brown

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: