Adam & Robert

Thank you for your time and interest in learning about us as a family. Being parents is an absolute joy. Every day is made better with the sound of our daughter’s laughter, snuggling together with a book, and getting a wonderful, squeezy hug. Our hearts have grown so much since Ellie joined us, and we would love to share our love with another child–and Ellie would love to be a big sister 🙂

Contact Info: adamandrobert25@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lisa Kreindler lisa.kreindler@gmail.com

Quick Facts

Adam

Age: 41

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Agnostic

Profession: College Professor

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Running, quilting, reading, sewing, moksha yoga

Robert

Age: 38

Ethnicity: White

Religion: Agnostic

Profession: College Instructor

Education: Masters Degree

Interests: Board games, video games, reading

Our Community

Years Together: 18

Province: Ontario

City: Toronto

Neighbourhood: Urban

Other Children: 3 year old daughter

Child Preferences

Age: 0-6 Months

Gender: No Preference

Ethnicity: No preference

Special Needs: Open To Discussion

Type of Adoption: Open

About Us

We met at college in January 2003, began dating in the third week of the semester, and have been together ever since. In April 2010, we were married in an intimate ceremony, surrounded by our family and closest friends. The wedding was held in the Stratford church where Adam’s grandparents were married 64 years earlier, and it was a blessing to have them serve as our witnesses.

We make a great team, and are a great support to each other in our lives and work. Before we became teachers, we travelled all across Canada to see each other perform in plays and musicals, and more recently we were careful proofreaders for each other as we both completed our Master’s Degrees. We’ve been lucky to work together in a variety of settings, and now teach at the same college, in the same program.

About Adam

Adam has been teaching in post-secondary performing arts programs for almost fifteen years, and is now a full-time college professor and the head of the program at our college. Adam teaches musical theatre history, repertoire and performance, and singing lessons. His Masters research was focused on gender in musical theatre, and he is an advocate for Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility in the arts, especially the post-secondary classroom and curriculum.

During the pandemic Adam picked up quilting as a hobby that reminded him of his grandmother. He looks at Pinterest a lot and has started making a bunch of projects (and finished 3 so far…) Adam has long enjoyed Canadian literature, and his favourite authors include Miriam Toews, Margaret Atwood, Michael Crummey, and Michael Ondaatje. He enjoys amateur photography, and spends afternoons with his mom and their cameras and have taken several photography courses together. Adam also loves superhero movies and is especially fond of the MCU and watching the new series from home.

About Robert

Robert is a member of the dance faculty at several performing arts colleges and universities. After completing his Master’s degree in Dance Studies at York University, he has been leading the creation of several new courses at our college. Robert previously worked as a performer and choreographer, dancing in musicals all over Canada, from Vancouver, BC to Charlottetown, PEI.

Robert reads just about anything, but especially loves Agatha Christie and mystery stories. Robert loves games: card games, board games, and video games. Getting Adam to learn the basic rules of “Settlers of Catan” was a triumph; Robert’s still trying to get him to find the love of Mario Kart. He has recently taken to baking, and is perfecting artisan sourdough. Ellie loves to help Papa in the kitchen, especially making homemade pizza and mixing cookies.

Ellie

Ellie is a very active and imaginative three-year-old. She loves Lego, dinosaurs, playdough, playing with trains, and colouring and stickers. She is often singing and making up her own songs and stories. In recent months she has become more interested in nurturing her stuffs, changing their clothes and making sure they’re fed.

Like both of her parents, Ellie loves books, whether she is curled up with Daddy or Papa, or “reading” to herself. Family favourites include the book of Julia Donaldson: The Gruffalo, Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book, and others, and Ellie loves reading about amazing women and inspiring historical figures. Her (ever-growing) book collection is inclusive and anti-racist, featuring families and characters of all genders, races, and abilities.

Ellie goes to daycare on our college campus and loves going to “school” with Daddy. She recently started dance classes on Saturday mornings and loves swimming lessons. Ellie loves connecting with other kids, and makes friends in the playground nearby and has playdates with another 3-year-old in our building.

Ellie also loves spending time with her grandparents. She has regular conversation via FaceTime with Robert’s parents in BC, who read her stories and hear about her day. She loves to visit Adam’s mom north of the city, where she can run around in the (very) big yard, use the swings, slide, and sandbox, and play with Titan, grandma’s friendly German Shepherd. This spring she also helped Grandma plant seeds in her garden, and likes checking to see the flowers grow.

Our Home & Community

We have been living in our large, two-bedroom apartment since 2011, and love it here. Our apartment is bright and sunny, with lots of windows. We have a spacious eat-in kitchen where we eat breakfast and dinner together. Our large living room is perfect for relaxing, reading, and snuggling on the couch, and Ellie’s bedroom has lots of room to play (–and to share)!

We love our neighborhood near Bloor West Village. It’s a quiet pocket of the city which allows us to be easily connected to the things we love in Toronto (like our favourite sushi restaurant in the Annex), and lots of nearby playgrounds, shops, schools, and libraries. From the front door of our building it’s a pretty quick bike ride or run down to the lake, there is a subway station across the road giving us easy and environmentally-friendly access to head downtown, and we have a fairly short commute 30-minute drive from home to work in Oakville.

The Humber River is our “backyard”, which we have really grown to appreciate since spending so much time at home in the past year and a half. We spend a great deal of time exploring the forests and fields through all four seasons. The parks  have been space for Ellie to learn to ride a bike, use her scooter, climb trees, and build snowpeople. She loves to splash in puddles, and the sound it makes when her boots are stuck in the mud.

Our Thoughts about Parenting & Adoption

We are deeply committed to raising independent and curious children. Ellie keeps us on our toes, but we are thrilled that she is determined and adventurous. We have both inherited patience and cool heads from our parents; neither of us were raised with excessive yelling or physical punishment. We navigate the tough times by discussing our feelings, and always being honest. We prioritize consent and bodily autonomy with Ellie, so that she grows up understanding and advocating for her boundaries.

Our teaching schedules allowed us to share child-care responsibilities for Ellie’s first year, and always have one of us at home with her. She has recently returned to daycare to allow her to spend more time with other kids and to learn and grow in a safe environment with excellent staff. When we welcome a second child, we will arrange a similar plan with one of us always at home for the first year, and for us to both be actively involved in parenting.

Our Relationship with You

We believe that every relationship is unique and is built together. We are committed to building a relationship that respects and reflects your needs and desires. We want to create that relationship with you as we learn about each other. We strongly believe that growing our extended family will only add to the love for our child, and that more love is always a good thing.

We have been very fortunate to build our family through open adoption. Our family has grown, not only in the addition of our incredible daughter, but also our important on-going relationship with her birthmother. We continue to visit together several times a year, in-person or online, and share pictures and updates via text and email. Ellie’s birthmother celebrated with our friends and family at Ellie’s first birthday party and she is truly part of our extended family.

Closing Thoughts

Thank You

We love being parents, and we know that we have so much love in our hearts to share. We have deep respect for all the choices you have to make, and wish you all the best along your path. Thank you for getting to know us a little, we have our fingers crossed tightly that together we may be a good match. We would love to connect in any way that is comfortable for you. Our very best, Adam, Robert & Ellie

Contact Info: adamandrobert25@gmail.com

Adoption Professional: Lisa Kreindler lisa.kreindler@gmail.com

Profile Single

We’d love to hear from you

You can reach us any time by completing this form: