Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone:
we live in: Toronto, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children: None
Pets: Stella, a 2 yo French Bulldog (sweet, gentle and loving)

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read our profile.

We imagine that this process must be difficult and we admire your strength in considering an adoption plan for your child.

We want you to know that adoption has always been our first choice for having a family. Lawrence was adopted into his loving family as a newborn, as were three other members of his family.

As a same-sex couple, we’ve dreamed of having a family of our own through adoption. We are committed to creating an open adoption plan, and are excited to explore these options with you.

Openness:

We are very supportive of an open adoption plan as it is important to us that your child knows his or her roots. As a couple, we welcome the opportunity to develop relationships with those who are important in your child’s life.

We look forward to having a chance to get to meet you, get to know you and discuss options around openness. We also look forward to working together to create a plan that will honour and respect the level of openness you choose for you, your family and your child.

About Us:

Our story started in 2012 in the most modern of ways: we met on an online dating site! After a week of conversation we met over a plate of nachos and a pitcher of beer. Minutes turned into hours and since then we’ve been inseparable!

While traveling through Ottawa in 2015, Lawrence proposed to Matt beside the Parliament Buildings. A year later we were married, surrounded by our family and closest friends. A month after our wedding, we moved into our home where we’ve dreamed of starting our family.

We’re a loving couple and family is at the heart of who we are. We both love to travel and have been ambitious in our professional pursuits. We have a shared love of the outdoors, sports, and theatre.

We also have a two-year old French Bulldog named Stella. She loves kids, people and other animals, and treats (of course!). Her favourite things to do are: take naps, go to dog park, and take car rides. Stella has completed three training courses, including: puppy school, family dog, and obedience.

About Matt:

Matt loves nature and the outdoors, and spent his childhood taking camping trips with his dad in Algonquin Park and visiting family cottages. He and his sister grew up with dogs and cats.

From the age of four Matt studied piano. He fondly remembers his mom taking him to see the Phantom of the Opera as a child, which fuelled his love of musical theatre.

Matt is also an avid runner having completed many races, including two marathons.

Naturally curious and interested in learning, Matt completed his Bachelors Degree in journalism and later his Master’s Degree in communication management. He works in public relations in the health-care sector.

About Matt, by Lawrence:

Matt is quite possibly one of the most kind, caring, and driven people that I have ever met. He is a very loving and supportive person, who prioritizes the needs of his friends and family. He is ambitious and always looks for opportunities to grow, both personally and professionally.

Matt loves to spend time outdoors and loves to travel. He is a fun, talented and artistic man, who loves to try new experiences, especially through travel and dining. He is also an amazing cook!

About Lawrence:

Lawrence is an only child and was adopted by his parents at birth. He grew up knowing that he was adopted, and his parents made sure that he always felt loved and integrated into the family.

As a child, Lawrence was curious about the mind and how we think, which led him to complete his Ph.D in Clinical Psychology. As a psychologist, Lawrence focuses on helping individuals struggling with mental health issues using Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).

Throughout his life, Lawrence has been an avid sports fan (hockey, basketball, baseball and tennis) and a theatre enthusiast. His first show was Les Misérables at the age of eight. He also loves being around water and tries to spend as much time there as he can.

About Lawrence, by Matt:

The first thing to know about Lawrence is that he has a great sense of humour, and has had me smiling and laughing since the first night we met. He also has the biggest heart. He cares for people every day who are often at their most vulnerable, and this care and dedication extends to his family and friends.

Lawrence loves sci-fi, especially Star Trek and Aliens. He collects vintage toys, many of which he displays in our home. Lawrence is ambitious and smart, and is always reading the news and keeping up on what’s happening in the world. He also loves to see the world, travel and explore archaeological sites.

Our Interests:

We love to travel. We’ve enjoyed seeing the world and experiencing different cultures and sites. We also love attending live theatre, including musicals and plays. Some of our favourites are Les Misérables, Wicked and Hamilton.

We are also big sports fans and cheer on the home team! We’re big Blue Jays, Raptors and Leaf fans, and try to catch a live game when we can.

We love to spend time with our friends and family, trying out new restaurants and exploring different areas of the city.

Despite loving being out and about, we also enjoy quiet nights at home, cooking dinner together and watching a movie.

Holidays and family events are important to us. We celebrate a diverse variety of holidays, including Easter, Passover, Rosh Hashanah, Hanukkah and Christmas and Thanksgiving.

We love to spend time with extended family and friends, and participate in their cultural celebrations.

On Parenting:

While we have not had any children of our own, we have many children in our lives. As your child grows, they will be encouraged to follow any dreams and interests they may have. We will encourage and promote education and self-exploration, and 100% support them in whatever path they choose.

We will always be there with love to support your child, in good times and bad. We both strongly oppose physical punishment of any kind. We believe that a child needs unconditional love and respect to help them grow and follow their dreams, while also understanding age-appropriate limits and consequences for their actions.

Our Home and Community:

We live in downtown Toronto in a diverse neighbourhood. Within walking distance, there are many parks, community centres, daycares, schools, early education centres, restaurants and cultural attractions.

We are also withing walking distance to many health-care facilities, including the Hospital for Sick Children, which is about 15 minutes away.

Our home is a two-story townhouse, with two bedrooms and a spacious backyard for a child to play in. The backyard is our favourite place to be in the summer where we love host family and friends for BBQs and get togethers.

Thank You

We have always dreamed of becoming parents and to raise a child in a loving and caring home. We are excited to embark on this adoption journey and expand our family.

We will unconditionally love and cherish your child. We want to help them grow into a kind and caring adult, reach their full potential, and be proud of their background.

We hope the information in this profile has been helpful to you, and please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We appreciate your consideration.