Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: (604) 984-2488
we live in: Vancouver, British Columbia
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children:
Pets: Uma & Sly-cats

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. We can’t even begin to understand what you are going through at this time in your life as we find this process extremely emotional ourselves.  It takes great strength for you consider adoption for your baby. It is a selfless decision and we would be honored if considered as a family for your child.  We promise to raise your child with the same values that we have been raised with ourselves, to treat people with respect, work hard and play often.  It’s difficult to summarize our lives into a short letter but we hope to provide you with a picture of what life with our family would be like.

How We Met

We met in our hometown of Toronto in 2000 at a restaurant and instantly had a connection. We felt very comfortable together and as though we knew each other for years. James received a job offer in Vancouver shortly after, he took it and we moved a few months later.  With nothing more than a suitcase each, we managed to build a fantastic life together.  We married in 2009 on Tortola in the British Virgin Islands, a home that James’ family built in 2001.  We’ve been married for 9 years and together for 18.

James

James is a Freelance Creative Director & Web Designer. He’s kind, patient and easy going. He enjoys traveling, cooking (but mostly eating), snowboarding, biking, swimming and tennis. He is singer and guitarist is a rock/pop band.

James was born in Ontario, his mother is Italian and his father is British.  He has an older sister and 9 cousins. James’ family is close and have always enjoyed spending time together traveling, cooking, playing tennis, crabbing and visiting their family cottages in Point Roberts and the BVI.  James has fond memories of road trips, pool parties, traveling and visiting family in Europe and the U.K.

Joanna

Joanna is a Freelance Fashion and Wardrobe Stylist. She is strong-minded, empathetic, creative, fun and loving. She can spend hours with children doing arts and crafts. She enjoys cooking, traveling, reading, yoga, spinning and watching movies. Joanna loves animals and is a vegan in training. She also loves Christmas and Halloween. Joanna was born in Poland and moved to Canada with her Mom and two brothers when she was seven years old.  Her father immigrated two years prior to set up a home base for his family. Joanna is the middle child, she has a niece, two nephews and over 20 cousins in total. Her family is close and adventurous. They enjoy spending time mushroom picking, picnicking and camping. Joanna’s mother is a master cook who can whip up a feast for a room full of family and friends in no time.

Our Lives Together

We enjoy doing many things together like cooking, hiking, crosswords and watching Netflix movies and shows. We love going to the beach with a picnic and watching sunsets. Travel is important to us as it’s filled with life experiences, learning about culture and meeting new people. In the beginning of this year, we volunteered at an Orphanage in Thailand. It was an experience we will never forget.

We continue to raise funds and help in any way we possibly can. We’ve also visited Vietnam, Cambodia, Hawaii and Mexico. We’ve traveled with our family to our roots in Poland, Italy and England.  We have two sweet and loving sibling cats named Uma and Sly. They are a Siamese and domestic mix. Uma and Sly are rescues from a non-kill shelter that we adopted in 2012 at the age of three months. Animals have been a part of both our lives from childhood and we could not imagine life without pets.

Both of us were raised Roman Catholic.  We feel that religion is important as it taught us values such as love, honesty and respect for one another and gave us a sense of community.  We both attended Catholic schools and plan on raising your child in the same manner. 

Our Community

We live in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom townhouse in the vibrant and multi-cultural community near Commercial Drive in Vancouver BC.

The Drive is a busy, fun, friendly street filled with many different shops and restaurants. We are close to schools, playgrounds and community centers.

Our Promise to You

Family means everything to us and after not being able to conceive we decided to turn our attention to adoption, something we both fondly discussed as an option during our second date.  We admire your courage during this time and should you choose us to raise your child we promise to give him or her unconditional love and endless opportunity. We promise to nurture to the best of our ability to let him or her grow to become the person they are meant to be. We promise to encourage, support and provide safety. We promise to create a fun and loving environment.

We both plan on being home for the 1st year as we work in the freelance world, which is very flexible and we can choose which projects to work on.

We feel that an open adoption is important. However, we completely respect your wishes and are happy to discuss a level of openness that works for everyone. Thank you for considering us. 

We wish you an easy pregnancy.

Sincerely,

Joanna & James

Here is our contact at Sunrise Adoption Services  
Angie Chalke
angie@sunriseadoption.com
(604)984-2488  Office