Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 6133406901
we live in: Brockville, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Rural
Other Children: Dominic
Pets: 1 cat, 2 budgies, 13 fish

Dear expectant parents,

We have a deep respect for you, for considering adoption for your baby. It is probably a very turbulent time in your life with many different thoughts and feelings and we hope that this is a decision that will bring you some peace.

We have put together a summary of our life here, hoping to share with you who we are, and what we can offer as a family to your child.

We intended to adopt even before we miraculously had a son, Dominic, via IVF, in March 2015. Our cat Neo joined the family in 2017 and budgies Pinda & Wokkels have been with us since 2012. Adding another child to our family has been our deepest wish for many years.

– My name is David and I was born in the Netherlands. I was raised in a family with three boys of which I was the middle one. I have a large extended family and growing up I had a lot of fun with them. My mom’s youngest sister moved to Canada with her husband in the 80’s to run a farm, and through them I was introduced to this country. I fell in love with Canada and I feel fortunate to now call it my home. My aunt and uncle have six children and they live near Montreal, so we visit often. We love their organic farm and the life they live there.

I work as a pilot for a large airline. My grandfather gave me the aviation bug when taking me out flying remotely controlled model airplanes as a kid. I did my training in 2004 in Manitoba, and then worked as a flight instructor, followed by regional airlines before joining my current employer. I love my profession and everything that comes with it! The job offers many perks, the biggest one being able to fly across the world for very little. It allows us to go visit our families in Europe a few times per year. Dominic loves seeing his grandparents and uncles and aunts. Likewise, we would love to show your child the world as we discover it.

During my time off I enjoy sports and music. I jog as much as I can and play the guitar, saxophone and piano (when Dominic lets me…). We love the outdoors and often go on walks and bike rides and also enjoy canoeing and sailing.

What I enjoy most of all is spending time with Theresa and raising Dominic together with her. Theresa is loving, has an amazing character and is always there to help others. She is a wonderful mother to Dominic, and there’s no doubt that she would be a stellar mom to your child as well. I admire her for how she always has something on the go. From publishing a paper in her field of work to building a strawberry box or playground in our yard.

– My name is Theresa, I’m originally from Sweden, and have also lived in Canada since 2004. I came here for my graduate studies in astronomy, and ended up staying since I met a very cute pilot in 2006 at a tiny airport north of Winnipeg…

I am the oldest of four and my family is rather technologically geeky so I communicate with them a lot online. My parents only have one grandchild so far (Dominic) so the entire family is longing to welcome another child into the family!

During my childhood, we would go camping across Europe almost every summer. This taught me to love other countries and cultures. I love camping, how it brings family closer together and makes you enjoy life more fully, in the moment!

My work is within the field of astronomy and I worked as a researcher at Queens University, Kingston before Dominic was born. I have continued to do research from home thereafter. The same feeling of awe and inspiration that David gets whenever he sees an airplane, is what I get whenever I see the stars on a clear night sky. Just as I am now observing my son discover space and astronauts, I would love to share this with your child as well.

I share David’s love of music; I play the flute and like singing. I enjoy dancing, and one of my greatest interests is hot-air ballooning. After we bought our house, we discovered that we really enjoy gardening! Also, I have always loved cooking and making healthy, yummy food. Right now, my most rewarding interest is taking care of Dominic, and see life through his eyes. I enjoy photography and want to share my photos with you, if you would like, of the child we’d be lucky to adopt.

David is the best father I can imagine. I always knew he’d be superb at it, since as a flying instructor he was always so calm and patient. He is also very caring and makes sure to send cards to friends who are sick, and never forgets a birthday. He is amazing with Dominic, and there’s nothing I’d rather observe than when they read and sing and have fun together. I know that he would be exactly as loving and patient with an adopted child.

David and I complement each other very well in our relationship. He is the calm anchor, and I’m the one with crazy ideas (but sometimes that switches around!).

We met in March 2006 at an airport where Theresa took flying lessons, and David happened to be her instructor… We totally fell in love, got engaged, and said yes on a beach in Sweden in 2007. It’s been quite the ride, and over the years we’ve grown even closer together as we experienced all the good, and sometimes the not so good things that life has had in store.

We live in Brockville, ON, and bought our first home in 2013 on a quiet street, with a big yard. Brockville is a community of 22.000 people, situated on the beautiful St. Lawrence River and the 1000 Islands region. It’s a great place for raising a family, with a relaxed country-like atmosphere, interesting history, and everything you need nearby. It is centrally situated between Ottawa, Montreal and Toronto.

We believe a child should always be surrounded by people who love him/her, and feel safe in that environment. We want to provide such a home for your child, where s/he can develop their talents, follow their interests, and grow to their own potential. We would encourage your child’s interests and let them find their own talents, not just assuming they will like whatever we like ourselves. We do not believe in physical discipline and prefer to use positive parenting.

We aspire to raise your child with a worldwide view and a backpack of values that will make them successful wherever they may find themselves as they grow up. Through our European roots we would provide the opportunity of dual citizenship. We’ve been teaching Dominic three languages (English, Swedish and Dutch) and it has been amazing to see how kids in their young years are like sponges and learn different languages easily in a natural way. We believe it’ll be good skills to have in his life as he grows up and are excited to do the same for your child. Perhaps there is an important language in your lives that you would like your child to learn?

It is our plan that Theresa will stay home with the children until at least the age of three, and then possibly work part-time until their school age – if the child is ready for some part-time day care.

When it comes to religion, we will not push or lead a child one way or another. Theresa is an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. David was raised Catholic and attends Theresa’s church occasionally, as does Dominic. We believe that a church can provide a good community and guidance in a child’s life, but we also know that many groups such as sports and community groups can meet that need.  We desire to raise your child as open-minded as possible.

Dominic is very excited to be an older brother and guide his younger sibling along the way. We both grew up with siblings and we often reflect that it has been, and continues to be, a blessing to have them in our lives, and wish the same for your child. Dominic loves to spend time with other children, and is very caring and gentle around younger kids.

We’d be thrilled if you would consider us to parent your child. Your child is/will be born in one of the best countries in the world – a great foundation to build upon. We’d love to meet with you and talk more about how we can join together through adoption. We wish you well in whatever decision you make and the absolute best in your journey.