Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 416-462-2626
we live in: Toronto, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children: N/A
Pets: Roxy (dog)

Dear Expectant Parents,

Thank you for taking the time to consider our profile as you make your adoption plan. We know that this is a difficult decision full of various emotions and we are here for support and open to finding the adoption path that fits your needs.

Wanting a family for quite some time, we want you to know that we are prepared to give unconditional love, emotional and financial support, a safe and stable home and a good education.

Thank you for reading this profile and we hope you get a good sense of who we are, our relationship and the type of family environment we want to create. We hope that you can see us as part of your child’s future and look forward to hearing from you.

About Us

We met through work in 2007 and our love and respect for each other grew from there. We have been together for over 11 years and have a home in the east end of Toronto (Leslieville). We shared a love of music, food and travelling and knew there was something special between us and we wanted to spend the rest of our lives together.

One of our strengths as a couple is we complement each other well and we share the same perspectives on raising a family, financial goals and the need to have strong relationships with our family. Our small and loving family includes our adorable Yorkie named Roxy, who is the third dog we’ve had together and an important part of our household.

Together we enjoy travelling within Canada and have an annual camping trip. We also enjoy travelling internationally and have been to numerous places in the world – Asia, many countries in Europe, Caribbean and Central America, etc.).

We enjoy going to live music shows together and cycling. We enjoy exploring new restaurants and cuisines, we entertain often and have a wide circle of very diverse friends. We are passionate about our careers but appreciate they provide a flexible work/life balance.

We have a stable, loving and financially secure home and are hoping to share that with a child to complete our family.

About Terri

Originally from Newfoundland, Terri had a humble childhood raised in a loving home with strong familial bonds that continue to this day. The youngest of five siblings and aunt to 10 nieces and nephews, she is spiritual and while raised Catholic, she respects all spiritual beliefs.

Terri has lived in Toronto for almost 20 years and loves the city. While she has a strong connection to the East Coast and goes back to her roots in Newfoundland annually, she loves Toronto and its diversity, living in an urban centre and the opportunity to create relationships with people from all walks of life.

Terri is a Human Resources leader with an undergraduate degree from University of Ottawa. Terri enjoys her job and helping others, especially creating strong relationships and helping people grow professionally. She enjoys being active, including exercise, yoga and cycling. She loves to unwind to music, gardening and spending time by the lake/beach, which is close to our home. She has had the pleasure of being a role model to many children in her family and has always dreamed of being a mother, having an opportunity to create a loving and caring home just as her parents provided to her.

About Brian

Born in Toronto and raised in Oshawa, Brian has one older sister and a relatively small family. A 2nd generation Canadian he also has Scottish and Ukrainian roots.

As a child, Brian was consistently a good student and played baseball and hockey growing up. He was always a hard worker and had jobs at an early age, from paper routes to working in restaurants. Brian has an honours bachelor of arts degree in philosophy and is a senior leader in marketing, communications and public affairs.

Brian enjoys working with people and leading to get the best out of them. In his spare time he enjoys cooking and grilling/smoking meats in the backyard. He likes to cycle and enjoys listening to music and tending to his vegetable garden. Brian loves sports and enjoys watching hockey, baseball and basketball, getting out to games regularly.

Brian has always wanted to be a father and looks forward to one day sharing his interests with a child, getting out to sporting events and one day even coaching his child’s team.

Our Home & Community

We live in the east end of downtown Toronto (Leslieville) and while we have close access to the city centre, we have a relatively large backyard and family-friendly neighbourhood. Our cozy, old yet renovated home has a large empty bedroom just waiting to be blessed with a child.

We are close to good schools, community centres and the beach. We also live near a large park that has a swimming pool and skating rink. We are surrounded by young families and have many friends in the neighbourhood. There are many young children in the neighbourhood and we help plan a street party every year complete with bouncy castle. We would love to welcome one more child!

Our Thoughts on Adoption

We are excited about the opportunity to adopt a child and have wanted to start a family for quite some time, but for medical reasons could not. We want to create a loving and supportive home that is open to diversity. We intend to foster a trusting and transparent relationship with an adopted child and want to honour and celebrate any ethnic or cultural backgrounds.

We know how important birthparents and their families are to a child’s identity and sense of self, and we would want an open relationship with you. We would want to mark milestones, share photos and stay in touch regularly. That said, we know that there are varying levels of participation and shifting circumstances, so we would want to respect your wishes and work with you.

Thank you

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. It is difficult to express in words our appreciation for your consideration and our desire to welcome a child into our family, but we hope you have a sense of it. We have a lot of love for each other and for little Roxy – we would love nothing more than to welcome a new child. We want to share our values and provide the opportunity to grow, be successful and be exposed to new cultures and experiences through travel.

We know this is a difficult decision and we want you to know that we would respect your role and actively work with you throughout.

We hope to hear from you!

Brian and Terri