Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 6137697287
we live in: Ottawa, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children:
Pets:

Why we want to adopt

For so long we have wanted to be a mom and dad and to build our lives around a child. We tried to have a biological child for 2 years, however it was not possible for medical reasons. After our grieving period, we did a lot of reading and research and decided to turn ourselves towards adoption to add a child to our family.

About us: Joseph

I am a 42 year old first generation Canadian. My mother was born in Germany and my father was born in the Netherlands. So when my grandparents on both sides of the family decided to immigrate to Canada, without knowing it, they ended up taking the same boat across the Atlantic at the same time. We found out years later when we were looking at pictures from the voyage and saw aunts from both sides in the same picture.

I am very close to my family and friends and it is very important to me to spend as much time with them as possible.

I have always loved telling jokes and making people laugh, so I have already started building up an arsenal of “Dad Jokes” that are perfect for makings kids laugh! I use them on my nieces and nephew every chance I get!

About us: Pascale

I am a 41 year old French-Canadian and I was raised in a musical family. Every year at Christmas, my aunts and uncles would gather together to sing Christmas songs. At 7 years old, I started taking organ lessons. A year later, I decided to take ballet lessons for a few years instead, but continued to play the organ at home with my mom. As a teenager and a young adult, I took four years of singing classes, as well as some piano and guitar lessons. I was also part of a choir in Gatineau for four years. Today, I give singing lessons to my youngest niece. One important tradition in my family surrounds the sugar bush. Until recently, my dad owned a sugar bush with one of his brothers, on a very vast forest at the end of our street. I spent a good portion of my childhood in that forest with my many cousins since 29 of them lived on our street (yes, I have more than 29 cousins!).

My dad and uncle had to rebuild the cabin at one point since it was falling apart. Making our own maple syrup and taffy was our pride. For Easter, we always make a sugar bush brunch with pancakes served with maple taffy, bacon, eggs, toast, and for dessert, we make eggs poached in maple syrup!

Our relationship

We met through colleagues in July 2012 and we have been inseparable ever since. We dated for a year before moving in together and we were married in September 2015. One thing is for sure, we feel blessed to have found each other and are truly happy together.

We frequently sing together in our home, we love making harmonies and sometimes practice a song together, just for the fun of it.

We enjoy spending time outside, whether it’s to go snowshoeing, biking or just walking to work together in the mornings.

We enjoy travelling together, whether just the two of us or with friends and family. There are so many exciting things to see and rich cultures to learn from around the world.

Family: Joseph

My parents, brother (niece – 17yrs) and sister (niece – 11yrs; nephew – 9yrs) all live close by in Ottawa. Our families have always been very welcoming to everyone especially during special times of the year. Whether it is for a birthday, the holidays or just some time together, everyone is invited, the more the merrier! Every second year, Joseph’s family along with in-laws and friends all come to Ottawa for a Christmas potluck and gift exchange for the children. Family members come from all over the world, Europe, the United States, as well as several cities within Canada. On average, we are usually 50 people at the reunion.

Family: Pascale 

I have 50 cousins! I keep in touch with most of my aunts, uncles and cousins through Facebook. I am from a small francophone city close to Quebec city, where most of my family still lives. I moved to the National Capital Region to go to University and decided to stay here. When my parents and brother realized that I was not planning on going back to my hometown, they decided to move to Gatineau to keep the family closer together.

Friends

We believe it’s important to stay in touch with our friends, and get together with them throughout the year, whether it is a games night, playing cards, playing Singstar, a game of pool, or escape rooms.

Every now and then, Joseph goes with his friends to see a soccer, football or hockey game. Pascale regularly goes out for dinner with her two best friends.

Our home

We have a beautiful home, with plenty of room for a child to grow. We finished the basement ourselves in 2016 and built a games room. Since we both love music, we setup a music room on the second floor of our home (with a keyboard, organ, accordion and a guitar, among others).

We also have a huge cupboard area in the kitchen, perfect for Pascale since she likes cooking healthy meals from scratch. The backyard has also plenty of space and is fully fenced with plenty of flowers, greenery and place to play.

Community

We love our neighbourhood! We live in the Central Park area, next to the Experimental farm in Ottawa/Nepean. It is close to several stores, and is a great area to live in. There are four parks for kids of different ages very close to our home and most of our neighbours have young kids. The area also has a mix of cultures and there are people of multiple ethnicities on our street alone.

Our parenting style

We want to make a home for your baby that feels predictable, secure, and know that we are going to be there for them unconditionally to help them through whatever life sends their way. Your child would be encouraged to make good choices and turn difficult situations into learning opportunities. We know the best way to encourage positive choices is to give recognition and praise when one has been made.

When needed, time-ins (a time-out, but next to one of us) and manageable loss of privileges would be things we would consider. We hope to be parents who are reasonable and clear on the difference between ‘right and wrong’. We are against violence and any form of physical punishment

Just as we were, your child will be encouraged to explore their interests, choose their own activities, try new things, and be their own person. Our wish for your baby is that they grow up believing in themselves and are confident enough to define and chase their dreams while being supported by a loving and caring family. We want your child to know that their opinion counts, so where appropriate, they will be involved in family decisions (e.g. decorating their room and vacation choices).

Both formal and informal Education is important to us. Not only will we encourage your child to pursue a field of study that interests them, we will teach them about cooking, gardening, music, electronics, construction, other cultures and anything else that interests them.

Our child care plan

Since we work for the Federal Government and are entitled to a total of 42 weeks of paid shared parental leave (9 months) for adopting a child, we are planning for Pascale to take 7 months and for Joseph to take the first two months with Pascale. In addition, we have both accumulated over a month of vacation, allowing us to stay home longer.

After our return to work, our plan is to find a suitable day care close to our home for your child. In addition, Pascale plans to work from home twice a week to take care of your little one.

Thoughts about adoption

Our plan would be to see you and other birth relatives as other members of our family. The way we see this relationship, by choosing us to parent your child, we all become extended family members.

We are supporters of open adoption and sharing in the naming of your child.

A child can never have too many people who love them. We hope to get your help in preparing a life book for your child that will help tell their story, including information and pictures about you, your family, your family traditions and your culture. We want to ensure that your child knows where they come from and we hope that you and your family feel comfortable keeping in contact with us through letters, emails, pictures and occasional visits.