Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 705-920-8151
we live in: Hanmer, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Rural
Other Children:
Pets: Fiona

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. We want you to know that we admire your bravery in considering adoption for you and your child’s future. Our hearts are open for a precious child. We want you to know that your child will be raised in a home where love and respect for everyone are at the center of our conversations and interactions. We hope that this profile will give an idea of who we are as a couple and also an idea of how much your child will be loved.

About Us

We are a fun, active, passionate and hardworking couple. We have been together for over 25 years (married for 20) and we currently live in Northern Ontario with our sweet and loyal dog, Fiona.  Being a part of a large family and having amazing friends who we can always count on is very important to us and we feel lucky to have people who also share in the excitement of an adoption.  We offer a supporting and nurturing home environment, filled with love, respect, and opportunities.

We met in 1987 and shared the same interest in volleyball, track and field, camping and other social activities and developed a close bond as friends. We started dating in 1994 and married in 1999.  We have been trying for 15 years to have a child and had losses in the process. We were unable to conceive children biologically, and after an attempt at IVF, we decided to fill our home with laughter and love with foster children for the last 9 years. Our experience with infertility and fostering children has made us stronger and reinforced our commitment to each other and in becoming parents. We feel that adoption is the right choice for us; this is how we are meant to build our family.

About Jessica

(From Steve) “Jessica is a the most loving, compassionate and kindhearted person I know. I fell in love with her beautiful smile and warm sense of humour.  She is the go-to person for our friend’s children, nieces or nephews when it comes to school projects. She has a gentle, patient, playful way with children who attach to her quickly. I know that her patience, understanding, and the amount of love and support that she gives, will be one of many things that a child will benefit from.”

Jessica is very artistic and loves creating unique artwork pieces.  She paints, works with wood and other material. She finds comfort in painting natural mediums.  Jessica also offers art classes in our community for children ages 5- 13 years old. Jessica is highly accomplished in creating educational and recreational activities designed to develop a child’s psychological, emotional, behavioral, cultural and social skills. She is dedicated to helping children better understand the world around them and developing relationships with parents to enrich children’s lives through play and learning. 

Jessica also enjoys running and finds this quite relaxing.  She is very athletic and enjoys the outdoors.   

About Steve

(From Jessica) “Steve is a generous, big hearted, loyal and kind man with strong family values. He loves to spend time with those people who are near and dear to him. I love watching him when he’s around children, whether he is playing a game, reading a story, or just being silly. Steve is always bringing a smile to their faces. He will be a fun-loving and caring father who will be dedicated to a child and their happiness.”

Steve enjoys wood working, being outdoors, camping, fishing, hunting, being with family and friends.  Steve enjoys riding his Harley motorcycle as well as rebuilding Harleys.  In the past, he was a volunteer fireman in our community.  He is gifted in working with wood and creating some unique pieces. 

Our Home

We live in a small community In Northern Ontario. We are within walking distance to schools, parks, splash pads, bike paths, and a community center. Our home is warm and cozy and has a cottagey feel. It has four bedrooms and two baths bathrooms. We have a fenced in back yard with a sandbox and playcenter.  We love to spend time here, hosting friends and family or just chilling out in the back on our deck.   Our back yard also consists of a large garage where we host larger family events or birthdays.

One of the best parts about where we live is that we are surrounded by family. Steve’s mother and sister live 7 houses down the street and Our best friend from childhood lives just around the corner. 

We have been proud foster parents for almost 9 years.   We have advocated for children’s rights, worked with health professionals to ensure their stability and have established and maintained positive relationship with these families. These were the most meaningful and worthwhile times of our lives.  We loved these children as our own and we are hoping to do the same for your child.

Our Dog

We own a 17-year-old Papillon named Fiona. She loves to play tug of war with her toys. Fiona also loves to cuddle with us on the couch when we watch movies. Fiona loves hunting with both of us and enjoys days sunbathing on the boat in the summer. Fiona is much quieter and calmer in her older years but enjoys children when they come and visit. She will quickly find one of her toys and want to play tug of war our nieces and nephews when they come visit.

Emilie

Emilie has been involved in Our family since she was 6 months old.  She attended Jessica’s licensed daycare and quickly became part of our lives.   Emilie’s parents saw the connection and love we had for their daughter and welcomed us as a part of their extended family. Emilie is currently 19 years old and in her second year of College. We are very proud of her accomplishments and have been actively involved in her milestones throughout her life.

Our traditions

We love celebrating holidays and birthdays and have regular dinners with family.  It is not uncommon for us to be at one of our families for a Sunday dinner.  Our favorite holiday by far is Christmas. We love searching for the perfect Christmas tree, decorating our house with lights, caroling, sleigh ride at Jessica’s Uncle’s place, our traditional Boxing Day brunch, and some crazy big family suppers.  New Year’s Eve we spend with Jessica’s family at her parents’ house playing games, skating, and making memories at the outdoor fire.

In the summer months, we rent a cottage. We spend our days fishing, tubing, swimming, kayaking, and relaxing around the campfire.  Family members takes turns coming out to spend a night, where we get to bond and make new memories.

Thoughts on Parenting

           

We will provide guidance to your child by being strong, stable, positive role models.  We will give your child opportunities to develop her independence as she becomes older.  We will try to hold realistic goals for your child as well as highlighting and supporting her individual strengths.  We will provide her with praise, positive reinforcement about positive behavior.

We believe that experience + exposure = education. We will try to expose your child to as many different people, places, foods and positive experiences as possible. How else will she know what she wants to do with her life, where she wants to live, what she may want to study in school and who she wants to grow up to be without experience? She will grow up with confidence, knowledge and an open mind!

We admire your courage and selflessness in making an adoption plan for your child and we are humbled that you might entrust us. We will strive to be the best parents we can be to your child and promise to commit ourselves to having a home full of love and possibilities. Thank you for your fierce love and courage. It is our desire to make your dreams for your child real. Your child will know of your strength and you will hold a place of honor in our home.