Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone:
we live in: Ottawa, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children:
Pets: Saxby the cat

HELLO!

We’re George and Jayme. Thank you for taking the time to read through our profile. We are an Ottawa-based, down-to-earth, active couple who are excited to grow our family through adoption. 

OUR STORY 

We are an Ottawa-based family with roots in Ontario and Nova Scotia. We met through friends in 2014 and had our first date at Mill St. Brewery in downtown Ottawa. Two years later we got married at that same location! 

We enjoy living in Ottawa and can often be found walking to local shops, restaurants and community events. We love going for runs and walking along the Rideau Canal path, especially in the fall when all the trees are turning colour! We have one cat who arguably loves George more. 

We enjoy cooking together, travelling (often to see our families!), reading and going for walks and hikes. We plan annual trips to visit family on the East Coast and enjoy the drive from Ottawa, through Northern Quebec and New Brunswick, and have spotted a few moose on these trips.

We have a strong marriage and are on the same page as to what we want from our of life. We rarely have disagreements and both believe communication is a priority, especially when were working through hard things. 

Before marriage, we discussed pursuing adoption and knew that our hearts were open to this journey all along. After experiencing loss and the emotional rollercoaster of fertility treatments, we are excited to grow our family through adoption and are so thankful to be considered to raise your child. 

JAYME (WRITTEN BY GEORGE)

When I first saw Jayme I knew she was “out of my league”. Frankly, I still think that. She’s a beautiful person both inside and out. She has a tender heart. On our many road trips she is inconsolable when we drive past ill-fated critters who have meet their demise. Her care extends beyond animals. She cares deeply about the people in her life, especially her family and close friends. Her concern for people also extends to her colleagues and she invests a great deal of time making sure those she works with are well supported.

Jayme is frequently up early to run and enjoys training for marathon races. The 4am alarm is one of the soundtracks of my life. Before I met Jayme, I don’t think I ever saw 4am. The dedication necessary to train for these races can be seen in other areas of her life. For example, Jayme has lead our family in sponsoring two international girls (Tania and Heidi) through Compassion Canada for the past three years and regularly writes letters and holiday messages to them.

Jayme is most comfortable at home (in her sweatpants) reading a book, knitting or watching some Netflix, with the cat nearby. She can often be found in the kitchen trying a new recipe listening to podcasts on a range of topics from health, faith, running, and popular culture. Sometimes she will even indulge me and listen to podcasts on history, politics and current affairs. 

GEORGE (WRITTEN BY JAYME)

George grew up in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and is a true Maritimer at heart – someone who is down to earth, humble and knows how to enjoy a good “kitchen party”. He can often be found making others smile and laugh. He is reliable, hard-working and excels professionally in the Government of Canada, but knows how to find balance in the day-to-day. 

George is the smartest person I know. I am certain he could go far on Jeopardy and have encouraged him to register as a contestant on the show! George enjoys reading, watching history shows and documentaries. He also finds joy in his stamp collection that he started when he was a child after inheriting it from his Grandpa. 

George and the cat have a special relationship. No matter where he is in the house, she will always find her way onto his lap. My ideal Sunday afternoon is reading on the couch and looking over to see George and the cat reading too. 

George loves our niece and nephew and can often be found playing games or doing puzzles when they are in our care or visiting. George is very family oriented and dedicated to his family and friends. He looks forward to being a father. 

OUR HOME

We live in Old Ottawa South, an established community near downtown Ottawa. Our house is new, built in 2019. There are lots of young families who live in the neighbourhood, with multiple elementary schools and community centres within walking distance. Jaymes parents live approximately 40 minutes away in a small town near Kemptville. 

One of our favourite things about our house is that we are uniquely situated in between the Rideau Canal and the Rideau River, both within 500 meters from our front door. Lansdowne Park is around the corner where we have access to amenities and entertainment. 

Your child will have their own room with lovely big windows looking out onto trees. We spend a lot of time on our main floor, where we have a large open kitchen and a big dining room table for family dinners. There’s lots of room to fill with toys and activities for your child to play and grow! Saxby the cat can often be found lounging in front of a big sun-filled window.

SAXBY THE CAT

From the moment we met Saxby at the Ottawa Humane Society, we knew we were her fur-ever family. She was a stray cat found in a suburb of Ottawa, with four rotting teeth. She has since made a full recovery and is now living her best life.

Saxby enjoys sleeping for approximately 20 hours a day. When she is not sleeping, she is playing video games with George, drinking from her crystal water glass (the only cup she will use), squirrel watching, or asking Jayme for a treat. Like many indoor cats, the vet has encouraged Saxby to eat portion controlled meals. As a result, we weigh her food out twice a day to ensure she gets adequate nutrition for her chill life. 

Perhaps a testament to us being cat people, Saxby has an affectionate way of always wanting to sit on our lap (or the computer were typing on or a book were reading). At night, she can be found cuddled up to George.  

Saxby brings tremendous joy to our days. 

OUR PARENTING STYLE

We have never been parents, though we’ve been around parents and have a good idea of what parenting philosophies we like and those we like less. We view parenting as the process of ensuring a child become a thriving adult. We believe this requires boundaries and loving discipline. In the early years that requires a bit of routine (meals, bath and bed at normal hours) and in the teenage years requires increasing independence and trust. Fundamentally, we believe that education – both moral and technical – will result in a fully independent and thriving adult.

We believe that kids should be kids. We would not be ones to cloister children in the home. Ultimately the best life lessons are learned on the playground, hockey rink and by interacting with one’s peers. We also believe that there is immeasurable value in lifelong learning and education. We would spare no expense in this area.

We are a family of faith and will raise your child with strong values (love, respect, perseverance, loyalty). We will encourage your child to explore spirituality and will walk with them in that journey.

Finally, one of the things we feel particularly strongly about is the use of technology. Staring into a screen is an impediment to genuine human interaction. We would limit access to and use of devices like phones, tablets and video games, especially in the early years.

We hope this gives you and idea of what kind of parents we would be.

OUR RELATIONSHIP WITH YOU

Family is central. You will be a part of our lives – we see you as extended family. We would love to open our family to you and would hope that you feel the same way.

We look forward to creating a lasting bond with you and your family and are open to discussing with you what that can look like.  

THANK YOU

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile. If you are interested in hearing more about us, we would be honoured to get to know you. 

Sincerely,

Jayme and George