Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 519-386-5140
I live in: Southampton, Ontario
My neighbourhood: Rural
Other Children:
Pets: Dad has an 8 year old chocolate lab named Jake.

Hi!

And thank-you for taking the time to look at and read my profile. This must be such a challenging time for you. I’m sure it has not been an easy road to travel. It was not easy to for me to put this profile together. It was hard putting down all my thoughts on paper. I look so forward to meeting you and getting to know you.

Get To Know Me

My name is Dallas (yes that’s really my name). Before you ask no I’m not named after the city in Texas and I’m not named after the TV show from the 80’s. It was just a name my parents heard before I was even born. I was going to be named Dallas whether I was a girl or a boy.

I’m 39 years old and I grew up in Southampton, a small town in Southwestern Ontario. I had my mom, dad, older sister and younger brother. I felt like I had everything. Not to get too mushy but I feel so blessed to have grown up in a loving family home. I know there are lots of people who are not so lucky. I am currently single but would like to get married some day if I find the right guy. I decided to move forward with becoming a mother because the time felt right. And being a mother is something that is very important to me.

My Family

My parents were always there for my brother, sister and me. All my memories are of wonderful Christmas morning’s, Easter Sunday’s, birthdays and family trips to Disney World. I also have great memories of just the simple things like meals at the kitchen table, which were very important to my parents it was our special family time.

Don’t get me wrong we had rough times too. My parents divorced when I was about 25. It was the hardest thing I have had to go through. Even though my parents aren’t together any more they have stayed friends and we get together often. They are the best grandparents to my 3 nieces, and they would be so excited to welcome another grandchild into the family.

My dad Ted is 68 and is retired. But he likes to stay busy, so he works for himself building boat docks and maintaining the machines at local arenas for hockey season. He loves sports and being a Grandpa.

My mom Ruth-Anne is 64 and is also retired. She remarried in 2008 but was recently widowed. She loves movies, reading and of course being a Grandma. She lives in an apartment in Southampton just a few minutes from our house.

My sister Shannon is 44 and is currently working on her masters of nursing degree and loves going bike riding and to the beach with her daughter Ava.

My brother Tyler is 36. He and his family live in Orangeville Ontario. He is an athletic therapist who works as a trainer for sports teams. His wife Alicia is 36 and is a high school teacher. They keep busy with work and their 2 beautiful daughters. There is always something going on at their house.

My nieces Julia, Ava and Emily are ages 9, 7 1/2 and 7. They have made me smile since the day they were born. I have treasured every minute taking them to the park, the movies, fall fairs, and of course all the kisses and snuggles.

As you’ve probably guesses my family and I are close. I am so grateful to have such a strong support system. Yes we get on each other’s nerves sometimes. But we are always there for each other.

Right now I am living with my dad, sister and 7 1/2 year old niece in our family home. It’s strange coming back to live in the house I grew up in but I know that having my family near by will be so important to the adoption process. It was another step I took to have things in place so I can be the best mom I can be. We are close to town which is nice and we can walk to the beach all summer long. My sister is also a single mother and we have been talking about long term plans. We decided that we should build a new house with more space for all of us because we want to be able to support each other as mom’s and our parents when they get older and need help.

My Career

I graduated from nursing school in 1998. I have taken full advantage of the fact that nursing is a portable profession. Being a nurse has allowed me to have some wonderful experiences and live in some amazing places. I have lived everywhere from Calgary to Hawaii to Melbourne, Australia. Nursing also provides me with a stable career and financial security. In order to put myself in a better position to be a mother I now work as a nursing case manager so that I no longerhave to work shift work. It’s important to me to be the class trip field mom just like my mom was, and to go to all the ballet recitals and soccer games.

Being A Mother

Ever since I was little I have wanted to be a mother. I was constantly playinghouse with my dolls and I always wanted to hold the baby when friends or new baby cousins would come and visit. When I got older I baby-sat all the time for families in town. When I became a nurse my specialty was labour and delivery. It was so rewarding to help new mothers and families welcome their babies into the world. Why it’s so important to me to be a mother is something that is hard to put into words. The only way I can put it into words is to say that to be a mother is something is that very deep in my soul.

For You To Know

I can only imagine the ups and downs you have been going through. I want to do everything I can to make the adoption process as smooth as possible for both of us. For this reason I want to honour you the birth family through a relationship of respect and support. I am open to discussing whatever level of openness you are comfortable with when it comes to pictures, emails, and visits. The relationship between a birth family and an adoptive family is very unique and special and I want to treasure that forever.

Please know that when this child joins my family I plan to take as much time off of work as possible. I would say my parenting style is going to be sharing my family traditions and starting new ones to make sure birthdays and Christmas time are as special to this child as they were for me. I look so forward to going on trips and holidays to many places (especially Disney World). But also enjoying the simple things like an afternoon at the park or beach. Sharing my faith and love with this child is something I can’t wait to do.

I know that you are making a tough and courageous decision for your own future and the future of this child. I hope my profile has answered some of your questions about me. I invite you to contact me if you would like to learn more. I wish you all the best on your journey as you make your adoption plan. I look forward to hearing from you, and thank-you again for taking the time to read my profile!

Sincerely

Dallas