Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone: 416.271.7356
we live in: Toronto, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Urban
Other Children:
Pets: 2

Hi there,

Thank you for learning about us as a couple, and perspective parents. We admire the courage it must take to make such an important and selfless decision. We would like you to feel confident that we can provide a fun-loving home full of opportunities and love for your child. May you find the perfect loving family you seek.

We met in Halifax, Nova Scotia in 2012. We both lived in Toronto but fate would have us meet on the east coast. We began dating immediately and in 2015, surrounded by family and friends, we were married in a beautiful ceremony in Toronto’s Distillery District. Friends always note how we compliment each other. Chad is a planner and organizer who likes to have everything completed and checked off a list, while Philip is a dreamer, willing to jump in and get the job done on the spur of the moment. We love our home, and we love to spend time together. Whether its a morning coffee, prepping meals, or walking our dogs, we have fun and feel very lucky to have each other and the life we have made for ourselves. We have always had the desire to be parents; children have always been a part of our lives, and we are uncles to many friends and families young ones- but have none of our own, except our two fur babies.

We love to stay active and busy. We enjoy eating out, socializing with friends, checking out museums, concerts, theatre and celebrating all the holidays. Hiking and keeping fit is something we both feel strongly about. We love being outdoors; boating, camping, cycling, and trying new things that may be scary. We challenge ourselves and believe it’s important to always have an open mind and be willing to try new experiences. We are both active individuals and love music, cooking, animals and travelling. We want to add to our family by adopting.

About Chad

Chad was born in Ottawa, ON. He started studying voice and dance, and dreamed of working as a professional actor. In high school, Chad auditioned and was selected to join the cast of the mega musical, Mamma Mia! The job would move Chad to Toronto, a city he would soon fall in love with and now calls home. Chad continued singing and dancing all over North America, he fell in love with travel and learning about different places and cultures. Chad’s biggest professional achievement would come from Disney, originating and creating the role of Rooney Doodle in the Juno/Gemini nominated TV series, The Doodlebops. Although Chad still finds himself on stage from time to time, he is a full time college professor, teaching, directing and choreographing in a musical theatre diploma program.

About Philip

Born and raised in downtown Toronto, Philip was a creative imaginative kid who loved singing and dancing and putting on shows for anyone who would watch. His parents nurtured his passion for the theatre and he began performing professionally at the age of 8. Philip was lucky to grow up in the city during the school year and then spend the whole summer at his family cottage on Lake Huron. After high school, Philip attended McGill University for 4 years. He then moved to New York City and went to theatre school on broadway for the next 2 years. After working in the US for a year, he moved back to Canada to join the company of the Stratford Festival, in his mom’s hometown. He has always enjoyed working with kids and went back to school to get his teaching degree. Philip has been an elementary teacher with the Toronto District School Board for the past 10 years.

Our Family

Chad comes from a large family and Philip comes from a small family. Chad has a brother, who is married with two kids, ages 8 and 10. His dad has 6 siblings and his mom has 5. Philip has 2 older brothers and 1 older sister, 2 nephews, ages 20 and 18, and both of his parents are only children so he has no aunts, uncles or cousins. Chad’s family more then makes up for it! We love getting together with our family members for dinners, birthdays, holiday celebrations, and also like vacationing together.

One of our favourite places is our family cottage in the Ottawa Valley. We’re able to enjoy it in all 4 seasons. Things we love to do there: cooking and BBQing, swimming, kayaking, boardgames, boating and cross county skiing. Yearly events: Labour Day Corn Roast, August Long Weekend costume party, Canada Day, Christmas and New Years celebrations.

Our Fur Babies

We have 2 dogs, Jackson and Bo, who are both rescues, so we aren’t exactly sure how old they are, but around 6 years old. We adopted them separately and they quickly became best buds. They are both very friendly and enjoy cuddling with their dads and going for walks at parks and beaches close to our house. Jackson is German Shepard mix and Bowie is a Swedish Vallhund.

Our Home and Community

We live on a tree-lined street in the east end Toronto neighbourhood of Leslieville. It’s a trendy area for young families, with parks, shops and restaurants and is close to the Beaches. Our home has 3 bedrooms and 4 floors. We like furniture and design and always have a project or a new idea we want to explore. We love hanging out in our backyard oasis, and cooking and hosting dinners in our newly renovated kitchen. In the winter, we enjoy cosy nights in front of the fire. We are always on the lookout for new and fun recipes to try. We have both enjoyed professional cooking classes and known to turn up the music and have a kitchen dance party! Our kitchen is the heart of the home.

Travel

We really love to experience different cultures around the world. We think its important to learn about new foods and different lifestyles from our own. We have driven across Western and Eastern Canada, something we would defiantly want to do again with a child. The sights and adventures right here in our own country are amazing! One of our favourite things to do is pick places that maybe wouldn’t be everyone’s top pick… and then research and go! Like Iceland, we loved our time in Iceland hiking and exploring the amazing landscape. Chad has an irish background, and for his birthday, Philip surprised him with a trip to Ireland. It was an unforgettable experience… exploring castles, the live music, and the hikes (that Philip loved way more than Chad). We ate our way through Italy, moving from town to town one pizza to the next. We usually spend summer times in Canada, we love cottage life, discovering communities close to our home, dog friendly resorts and parks. In the winter, we spend March Break in Barbados with Philip’s side…we have met many friends and families there. It’s become a second home to us. We would love the opportunity to see different parts of the world through the eyes of a child, and experience different ways of life together.

Thank You

We have so much love to share with a child and we are excited to expand our family through adoption. If we are given the privilege to adopt your baby, always know, we will unconditionally love your child and they will know the sacrifices you have made out of love. We are not perfect, we make mistakes, we are constantly learning, and we don’t have all the answers, but we have each other. We have respect and love and we want to be parents. We wish you all the best in everything you do and want to thank you once again for taking the time to read a little about us.