Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone:
we live in: Ottawa, Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Rural
Other Children:
Pets: 3 dogs

Dear Expectant parents

Thank you for reading our profile.  We are honoured to be worthy of your consideration as you plan the future of your child.  We offer you this profile so you can get to know us a little.  We know it’s impossible to really get to know someone in just a few pages but we will try our best to sincerely convey who we are so that you can make the best choice for your child.

Who we are

We were born and raised in Ottawa.  We both speak English and French fluently and would encourage the use of both in our household.  We have been together for 4 years, living together for 3 and have recently gotten married. We highly value communication and talk about anything and everything.  When we disagree, we talk it out and resolve the issue quickly.

We firmly believe we are the same kind of “weird”(in a good way) and always appreciate a good pun.  In our free time we like playing board games, reading, video games and various arts and crafts.

We come from very musical backgrounds and music is and important part of our family.  We both play the piano at a high level and enjoy playing duets. We both learnt the viola and played in our high school orchestras. We have also been known to invent random songs about our lives. 

We enjoy softball in the summer and skiing in the winter.  Angela took a medieval sword fighting class and Andrew enjoys golf and curling.  We both regularly play squash and practice yoga. 

Every summer we go camping at a family friendly music festival where we see live bands and participate in activities. We attend this with several of our close friends and their families. 

We consider ourselves to be responsible and organized.  Both of us work at full-time, permanent jobs.   We are fairly conservative financially and believe in saving for the future.  We are both in good health and do not suffer any significant medical conditions.  Neither of us has ever smoked and we rarely consume alcohol. 

Angela

Angela is a friendly and outgoing, 32 year old woman.  She is a very fun loving and caring person.  She is very approachable and easy to talk to.  She is very good with children and easily gains their trust as she has a playful and silly side that not all adults have.

Angela grew up surrounded by lots of extended family.  She has a close-knit family that spends a lot of time together. Angela has 2 older brothers, both are married with kids and is very close to her niece and  nephews.

Angela has completed a BA in psychology and a Masters in counselling.  While in university, she worked part time as a piano teacher in an elementary school and spent her summers working in her mother’s daycare.  After completing her studies, Angela achieved her career goal by becoming a Child Therapist and later also the counselling team manager.  Angela works with children aged 3-15 doing art and play therapy to help them cope with trauma, family conflict or mental health issues.  Working with young children has always been her passion and has given her the ability to help children grow and learn to handle difficult situations.  The kids she works with often enthuse about how she gets paid to play all day!

Andrew

Andrew is a very kind and generous 33 year old man.  He is an adorkable nerd! Andrew is dependable and caring; he is always willing to lend a hand to those he cares about.  Andrew is very punny and has a great sense of humour.  Andrew is very close to his family, who all live in the area.  His father is retired from his government HR job and his mother was a stay at home mom and musician.  He has a younger sister, who is also one of his closest friends.  Andrew is also very close to his aunt, who is a retired kindergarten teacher.  He gets along well with children due to his willingness embarrass himself for the greater good.  He routinely allows our niece to dress him up as a princess. 

Andrew has always been interested in learning.  As a child, he was interested in geography and memorized all the capitols and flags of the world. He later focused his obsession with useless trivia to the world of hockey and baseball.  He also had a keen interest in music and golf.  After completing his Bachelor of Commerce, Andrew started his work experience with an accounting firm and obtained his Chartered Professional Accountant designation. He currently works as a controller for a private company. 

Our furry friends

We have 3 dogs with distinct goofy personalities.  Our dogs are all in good health and are used to having kids around.  They like to play and cuddle with our family and friend’s children.

Pavlov is our oldest dog.  He is an 8 year old beagle Dalmatian mix.  He’s a big suck and loves to be pet, and loves anyone willing to pet him.  He’s an old dog at heart until you decide to give him a toy, which makes him act like a puppy again.

Darwin is a 4 year old female terrier mix. She can run like a greyhound and jump like a cat.  She is the momma dog and takes care of the entire family.  If someone is sad or sick, she cuddles next to them and keeps them company. 

Alonzo is our “littlest” goofball.  He is a 2 year old black lab and is the friendliest dog you’ll ever meet.  He enjoys food, snoring and licking Pavlov’s eyeballs.  As the youngest with the most energy, gets to spent one day a week at doggy daycare where he learns new tricks and plays with his friends.

Our home

We recently moved to a large house in a small town just outside Ottawa. We live in a large home on a 1 acre property.  It offers a nice mix of country and suburban living as we have lots of land and trees but also have neighbours close by and are only a 10 minute drive from town. 

We purchased this house with kids in mind as it has 4 bedrooms, allocated playrooms, a large finished basement, and plenty of space for everyone’s hobbies.  We have 2 wood burning fireplaces and one electric fireplace in our living rooms to keep us warm and cozy on cold winter nights.

We have a large fenced backyard to allow plenty of running space for kids and dogs!  We have an open space directly behind our porch surrounded by a wooded area.  These trees give us plenty of privacy. We also have a large front yard and driveway, which make it easy to play sports such as basketball and street hockey. 

Cottage fun!

In the summer, we like to spend time at our family cottage.  The cottage is on the lake and only accessible by boat, which created a sense of calmness and allows us spend time in nature. 

While at the cottage, we like boating/canoeing, swimming, watching the dogs run and play outside, bbqing, playing basketball and just hanging around outside on the dock. 

When it rains or the sun goes down, we relax by playing board games, napping, or sitting down with a good book.

Our parenting style

Given Angela’s career, we have learnt and often discussed healthy parenting techniques that help develop a strong attachment with a child, which in turn builds more confidence and self esteem. 

We strongly believe in communication.  While raising your child, we would encourage them to talk about any issues they are having and help them come up with solutions together.  We do not believe in corporal punishment and would never hit or intimidate a child.  Rather, we believe in setting clear boundaries and natural consequences to any misbehaviour, so the child can learn from their mistake and not feel like their attachment to us is threatened.

We also highly value spending time together as a family.  We would want to really get to know your child and bond with them over shared interest and some special silly time. 

We also value learning and knowledge and would support any career path they choose, and encourage them to learn as much as can about that subject. 

Our views on adoption

Given the opportunity, we would prefer an open adoption.  We would like your child to know where they come from and get to know their family history.  We know that maintaining a connection to the birth family helps create a better sense of self and more self-confidence.  You can never have enough people who love you.

Thanks!

We sincerely thank you for considering us and taking the time to read our profile.  We know this is a difficult decision for you and respect your decision as we know you will make the best choice for your child.