Our Letter Image

QUICK FACTS

Phone:
we live in: , Ontario
Our neighbourhood: Rural
Other Children: 1 daughter
Pets: dog & cat

Welcome to our family profile! Our names are Alli and Andrew, we have a daughter named Ella, a dog named Griffin and a cat named Joey.  We have a happy, loving home – we love being parents and hope to expand our family though adoption. 

We have written this profile to tell you a little bit about us and our lives – but, the most important thing that we can tell you is that we would love your child beyond measure and that we value family above all else.  We would make sure that your child has everything they need to have a wonderful life.  This starts with a safe, loving home, full of joy and laughter, unconditional love and support. 

Adoption is already part of our extended family story and our families are very supportive.  Both of our families are so excited about a future adoption for us and everyone is waiting with open hearts to welcome a little one into our family. 

About us: 

We have been together for 20 years.  We started dating in grade 9 when we both competed at a provincial track and field meet.   We have grown up together and this means that we know each other inside out.  We also have a great support system as we have known each others’ family for most of our lives.  We have been happily married for 10 years.  In 2011 we were blessed with a daughter, Ella.  We both come from big families and it is our dream to become a family of four. 

Our lives revolve around our family and we spend a lot of time together.  We like to be active – hiking, camping, and sports.  Our evenings are filled with time together playing games, doing arts and crafts and reading.  Every night we have story time – this is the three of us, plus our pets – Griffin and Joey, all together on Ella’s bed for stories.  This is the best time of the day! 

A little about Andrew:

I was born in Gananoque, Ontario. I am the youngest of four, with two older sisters and an older brother.  I have a very close-knit family and we love to spend time together.  I am also the proud uncle of four nieces and one nephew. 

Growing up, my favourite memories were playing road hockey with friends, vacations to Myrtle Beach and playing board games with my family.  I played lots of sports including hockey, soccer, football, volleyball, and golf.  In high school, I was drafted to the OHL and moved away from home to play hockey.  I still love hockey, I am an avid Leaf’s fan, and we always watch Hockey Night in Canada.

After high school, I studied Engineering and I now work in the water industry.  I work regular business hours Monday-Friday.  In my spare time, my main hobby is wood working – I started with small projects like picture frames and now like to make furniture. 

Andrew in Alli’s words:

Andrew is so good natured – he is soft spoken, kind-hearted, very respectful of others and is friends with everyone.  Above all, Andrew loves being a dad.  Its probably because he is a big kid himself.  He loves to be silly and make us laugh.  Mornings are his specialty – on the weekends he’s always up early, making breakfast for us, getting the music going, and is often found dancing in the kitchen with Ella.  He loves coffee, but definitely doesn’t need it!  He always has lots of energy and a list of fun things to do.  He also takes great pride in his work professionally as well as at home – he has a strong work ethic.  I am always amazed at how much he gets done – he can have the groceries done, cut the grass (and we have an acre), finished up some office work and spend a ton of time with Ella, all before noon on the weekend.  Sometimes I think he is super-human. 

Andrew is an amazing dad – he is the perfect mix of responsibility and silliness to win a child’s heart.  He lights up our daughter’s face each and every day – a joke, a dance – he’s just being him – a guy who loves life and loves his family.

A little about Alli:

I grew up in Kingston, Ontario.  My parents have been happily married for over 40 years, I have an older sister, a younger brother, four wonderful nieces and a sweet little nephew. 

I have great childhood memories of spending countless hours outside playing with my brother and sister.  We always had pets growing up, and this fostered my love of animals.  I also loved sports.  As a kid, I liked swimming and soccer, but my favourite was running cross country and track & field, and I competed at the provincial level.  In high school I became a life guard and spent many amazing summers working at an outdoor pool, and really enjoyed teaching swimming lessons.  My other interest growing up was music.  I played many instruments, including piano, guitar, flute, clarinet and trombone.  I am looking forward to teaching my children how to play the piano.   

After high school I studied health and psychology.  I did a graduate degree in clinical psychology then went to medical school.  I now work as an Emergency room physician.  I work 8 days a month, leaving lots of time to be at home and be a mom!    

I love my job, but most of all, I love being a mom.  I grew up with a stay at home mom, and I followed her foot steps in completing my education, but I am still very home orientated. Work-life balance is so important.  I volunteer at Ella’s school and every summer I stay at home with her.  We have so much fun going to splash pads, swimming lessons, soccer, picnics, hikes, days at the zoo and water parks – it is endless fun! 

Alli in Andrew’s words:

Alli is an amazing person – she is sweet and kind, and has a great sense of humour.  From the first time I met her in grade nine through today, she treats everyone she meets with respect and a sense of caring.  She loves to look after people, and this makes her a wonderful mother and doctor.  Our daughter adores her – so do our pets Joey and Griffin – the three of them follow her around everywhere she goes – into the bedrooms to get laundry, to the laundry room, back to the kitchen to make some food, to the couch for cuddle time – they are always together, and Alli takes such good care of them.  I am always amazed by how well she balances her work and home life – she has an important job and works hard, but above all, she’s an incredible mother – it’s impressive.  She is a strong person, she can take on a lot of responsibility and make it look easy.   She will definitely teach our children that you can achieve anything you put your mind to in life, as well as to value and cherish what is most important – each other.                    

A little about Ella:

Ella is a happy, playful little girl.   She is six years old and goes to a Catholic school and loves learning.  She is also very social and enjoys spending time with her friends.  She really likes helping other people. Ella is really excited about the possibility of being a big sister (her favourite game is “sis” – a game where she pretends to be a big sister).   She will make a wonderful big sister!  

Our house:

We bought our forever house in the Niagara area 5 years ago.  It is a very welcoming house with lots of room.  We have a view of Lake Ontario from our front yard.  In the summer you can see tiny sailboats on the lake or watch a big ship pass by.  We live on an acre and have a large backyard with a smaller fenced area with a big deck and a kid’s climber.  Outside the fenced area is our fire pit and a big area for sports.  We have beautiful flower gardens as well as a vegetable garden.  Each summer, Ella helps us plant lettuce, kale, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots and berries.  At the front of our house, across the road, is a hiking trail.  From here, you can also walk to a conservation area.

Our vacations:

We like to travel and usually take two big vacations a year.   We have travelled through Germany, Switzerland and France, as well as coast to coast across Canada.  In addition to exploring, we love beach vacations and Myrtle Beach is a favourite.   We also have a pop-up trailer and this is another common vacation.  We like cooking outdoors, hiking, swimming and having campfires at night, then playing board games inside the trailer before bed. 

Grandparents often come with us on vacation with us.  Last summer we took Alli’s mom to New York city.  This was an amazing trip and Ella got to see Wicked, her first Broadway play.  We have also spent many vacations down south with Andrew’s family.

Our absolute favourite place to go is Disney!  We generally go every other year.  There is so much magic and we have so many wonderful memories of watching Ella’s face light up when she sees her favourite characters come to life. 

Open Adoption:

If you choose us to parent your child, and you would like to have an open adoption, we would be very happy to develop a relationship with you.  We would love to get to know more about you, and your dreams for you and your baby.  We want your child to know how much they are loved by you and by us. We want their adoption to be a positive part of their life story, one that they are proud of and happy to share with others.

If you are comfortable, we would like to share the journey together.  This could take the form of photos, emails, letters, and visits, depending on your comfort level.  We feel that this could be a flexible relationship that develops over time.

Thank-you!

Making an adoption plan for your child is an act of love and we have so much respect for you.  Words can’t describe how excited we are about the possibility of becoming parents for your little one.  We are very thankful to you for reading our profile and for considering us. 

Many experiences in our lives have led us to adoption and it feels like this is the journey we are meant to be on.  We hope we can share this journey with you!